Heritage Western Cape Council and Committee members welcomed at induction | Western Cape Government


Heritage Western Cape Council and Committee members welcomed at induction

7 March 2023

On 7 March 2023, the newly appointed Heritage Western Cape (HWC) council and committee members had the opportunity to learn more about their roles during their induction that took place in Cape Town.

Department of Cultural Affairs and Sport (DCAS) Head of Department, Guy Redman shared how happy the department was that council and committee members put their hands up serve fundamental and important roles with the Western Cape Government.  “Heritage is at the center of everything. It is at the lived experience and our communities. It ensures things that shape how we think as a community” said Redman. The HoD also stressed that heritage does not only include the tangible items like building, but also very importantly includes intangibles such as language preservation which is also the responsibility of the HWC council. 

Minister of DCAS, Anroux Marais, who was responsible for the appointment of the council members highlighted the mandate of the HWC council. “Its main purpose is to identify, protect, conserve, and manage the heritage resources of the Western Cape Province. HWC plays a critical role in preserving the cultural, historical, and natural heritage of the Western Cape Province” she said. The Minister thanked the members of the Council and the Committees for their passion and commitment to helping HWC fulfil its mandate. 

As a strong supporter of HWC, Premier Alan Winde addressed the council and committee members on how important their roles are in preserving the heritage of the Western Cape and how that influences many other functions of government within the province, such as how heritage can help increase and improve tourism. The Premier asked that the members use the values of the Western Cape to help them make a positive difference in the province. “Values help me make the tough decisions every day. Embrace and rely on your values and WCG values and in the way you do your work”. He encouraged the members to work diligently: “We must do our jobs to the best or abilities, to make the best difference we can, not only in province, but also our country” he said.

The council members will serve in their roles for a three-year term. The new council members are: Reyhana Gani (Chairperson), Heidi Michelle Boise, Ron Anthony Martin, Siphiwo Mavumengwana, Dennis Lincoln Belter, Cornelia Hendrika Smart, Mandla Mdludlu, Cedric Daniels and Tyrone Gregory Ontong.

Media Enquiries: 

Tania Colyn
Spokesperson to Minister Anroux Marais
Tel:  076 093 4913