Heritage Western Cape

heritage western cape logo
Find out more about the Heritage Western Cape logo
Permits to alter or destroy
Provincial heritage sites
or buildings over 60 years old

This form is used to apply for the development of land.
Intent to Develop

The Council for Heritage Western Cape:

Acknowledges the leading role the Western Cape Province has played in the conservation of our heritage.

Continues this tradition within a transformed and transforming cultural context.

Proposes to set the highest standards for the conservation of its rich legacy, acknowledging national and international trends in heritage conservation.

Realises the importance of tourism within our economy, and believes that the tourist appeal of the Western Cape resides largely in the diversity of its cultural heritage

What is Heritage Western Cape?

Heritage Western Cape is a provincial heritage resources authority. Established in January 2003, this public entity seeks to identify, protect and conserve the rich and diverse heritage resources of the Western Cape. There are landscapes, sites, artefacts, buildings and structures that are of significance to the people of the Western Cape. Identifying, protecting and conserving these heritage resources will ensure that they are promoted and conserved for generations to come.

Heritage Western Cape was established in terms of the National Heritage Resources Act, Act 25 of 1999. It is mandated to promote co-operative governance between national, provincial and local authorities for the identification, conservation and management of heritage resources. In promoting heritage, Heritage Western Cape recognises that heritage resources are both tangible and intangible. These include:

  • Monuments,
  • Places of worship,
  • Historical sites,
  • Sacred sites,
  • Oral traditions,
  • Indigenous knowledge systems,
  • Structures associated with slavery,
  • Palaeontological artefacts such as fossils
  • Archaeological artefacts and sites such as ship wrecks, burial grounds & graves, memorials and rock art sites.

Heritage Resource Management Services provides executive and administrative services to Heritage Western Cape. Appropriately qualified and experienced staff within Heritage Resource Management Services implement heritage legislation in managing provincial heritage resources.


To ensure that it fulfils its legislative mandate, the Council of Heritage Western Cape meets regularly and has established the following committees:

The Built Environment and Landscape Committee (BELCom)

BELCOM is responsible for considering permit applications for alterations & demolitions of buildings older than 60 years. It also assesses activities occurring in and affecting formally declared Provincial Heritage Sites, heritage areas, public monuments and memorials. The Committee also considers proposals regarding heritage resource management for certain categories of development and comments on applications in terms of NEMA. Please see more information about the BELCom agendas, decisions and minutes online.

The Archaeological, Palaeontological and Meteorites Permit Committee (APM)

The APM is responsible for considering permit applications related to archaeological and palaeontological sites and meteorites in the Western Cape. Both the APM and BELCOM Committees deliberate and manage impacts on declared Provincial Heritage Sites and heritage areas. These Heritage Western Cape committees also play an integral part of the commentary process under NEMA and MPRDA for developments. Please see more information about the APM agendas, decisions and minutes online.

Appeals Committee

An Appeals Committee has been appointed to meet on an ad hoc basis when appeals are received. Appeals against decisions taken by staff under their delegated duties, BELCom or the APM Committee must be made within 14 days of receipt of a Record of Decision from HWC. Please see more information about the Appeals Committee agendas, decisions and minutes online.

Heritage Western Cape Members:

Antonia Malan (Chairperson)
Chris Snelling
Corlie Smart
Daniel le Roux
Graham Jacobs
Ignatius de Swardt
Joline Young
Karin Dugmore Ström
Katharine Dumbrell
Quahnita Samie
Rolf Annas
Rowen Ruiters
Siphiwo Mavumengwana

021 483 9598
021 483 9845
Street Address:

3rd Floor, Protea Assurance Building, Greenmarket Square, Cape Town, 8000

Postal Address:

Heritage Resource Council, Private Bag X9067, Cape Town, 8000

Overseeing Government Body: (Western Cape Government)
The content on this page was last updated on 11 December 2018