Know Your Government

Government in South Africa is divided into 3 spheres: National, Provincial and Local.

Each sphere's responsibility is outlined in the Constitution. Governments have a political and administrative arm. The political arm creates the laws and policies, while the administrative arm is the part of government that provides services and implements the laws and policies.

Citizens elect representatives to the Parliament, the provincial legislatures and the local councils.


The governments that are relevant to the Western Cape are:


National Government


National Government: Makes laws and sets policies for the whole country. It also provides certain services (eg: issuing of ID books).

Find out more about the role and responsibilities of national government by visiting the official South African Government website.

Provincial Government


Provincial Government: Makes and administers provincial laws in its areas of jurisdiction (eg: liquor licences, provincial planning, cultural matters, recreation, roads and traffic). It shares certain areas with national government, such as health, education and social services.

Local Government


Local Government: The role of municipalities is to provide basic services, as well as promote a safe and healthy environment, and community development.

Search for your local municipality from the list below.


The content on this page was last updated on 20 September 2018