Two new primary schools in Plettenberg Bay | Western Cape Government


Two new primary schools in Plettenberg Bay

18 February 2016

The Department of Transport and Public Works has handed over two new primary schools in Plettenberg Bay to the Western Cape Education Department. The R40 million Kwanokuthula Primary School and the R35 million Kranshoek Primary School will be the educational home of some 1 200 and 800 learners respectively.

Construction began in June 2014, and the schools were completed in time for the beginning of the 2016 academic year. Teaching facilities at the schools comprise two Grade R classrooms, as well as 10 foundation phase, 10 intermediate phase and eight senior phase classrooms. Each school boasts a hall with toilet facilities, an administrative building, a kitchen, a garden store, and caretaker’s facilities.

Donald Grant, Minister of Transport and Public Works said these construction projects achieved a number of empowerment goals, especially for local communities.

“50% of the labour force was sourced from the local community and empowered through the Expanded Public Works Programme. Local sub-contractors and suppliers were used to carry out essential work during the projects, and on-site training was provided for students of the built environment,” he said.

Debbie Schäfer, Western Cape Minister of Education said learners will receive quality education in the state-of-the art schools that they and the community can be proud of.

“It is essential for learners to learn in an environment which is safe. This goes hand in hand with quality educators and support structures. These schools are equipped for this,” she said.

The Western Cape Government invests heavily in education infrastructure to improve the quality of teaching and learning facilities in schools, as well as to meet the increasing demand for schooling in the province.

We are pleased to have built schools that communities can be proud of; places where quality education can take place and learners can thrive.

Media Enquiries: 
Byron la Hoe
Communication Officer
Department of Transport and Public Works
Tel: 021 483 9813
Cell: 079 281 8570

You can follow the Department of Transport and Public Works on Twitter: @WCGovTPW