Minister Fritz recognises Hout Bay volunteers for arrests in Ivan Ivanov case | Western Cape Government


Minister Fritz recognises Hout Bay volunteers for arrests in Ivan Ivanov case

27 September 2019

Yesterday, the Minister of Community Safety, Albert Fritz, awarded the members of the Hout Bay Community Crime Prevention (CCP) NPO for their contribution to the arrest of suspects alleged to have murdered Ukrainian tourist Ivan Ivanov. 

Mr B Brown, Mr JJ De Villiers and Mr J Scholtz were awarded R9000 (in total) at the CCP Head Office for their brave and swift response. Minister Fritz was further given a tour of the CCP’s control room, as well as a demonstration of the Buzzer app used by residents (for free), volunteers and professional responders.

Minister Fritz said, “The innovative Hout Bay CCP, led by Director Kerri Cross, was a key stakeholder in the arrest of the suspects alleged to have brutally stabbed and killed Ivan Ivanov on Saturday, 27 July 2019, at East Fort outside Chapman’s Peak Drive.”

CCP Operations Manager Mr JJ De Villiers, made the first arrest whilst out to breakfast. Buzzer indicated that there were 3 suspicious males nearby. Upon investigation, he saw a suspect running with a backpack belonging to Ivan. The suspect had been arrested by the CCP approximately 3 times before. Mr De Villiers blocked him off at the exit, allowing the CCP technical manager and volunteer to catch and arrest the suspect. The body of Ivan was found shortly after. Later a tip off was given to the CCP that the remaining two suspects were in Hangberg, ensuring their arrest.

Minister Fritz further added, “In terms of section 29 of the Western Cape Community Safety Act, 2013 (Act 3 of 2013) and in recognition of Meritorious Service in Promoting the Purpose of the Act, the CCP volunteers were awarded. I sincerely thank these individuals for their efforts, and further wish to recognise the many other volunteers in Neighbourhood Watches, Community Policing Forums, SAPS and private security companies who contribute of themselves tirelessly to keep their communities safe.”

Under the leadership of Minister Albert Fritz, the Department of Community Safety remains committed to supporting organisations which safeguard the residents of this Province.

Attention broadcasters: please find audio clip attached.

Media Enquiries: 

Cayla Ann Tomás Murray
Spokesperson for Minister Albert Fritz
Tel: 021 483 8550
Cell: 064 121 7959