Premier Winde and Minister Marais welcome new Heritage Western Cape Council | Western Cape Government


Premier Winde and Minister Marais welcome new Heritage Western Cape Council

24 October 2019

On Thursday, 24 October 2019, Premier Alan Winde and Minister of Cultural Affairs and Sport, Anroux Marais, officially welcomed the new council of Heritage Western Cape, as they start their 3-year term.

Heritage Western Cape is a provincial heritage resources authority. Established in January 2003, this public entity seeks to identify, protect and conserve the rich and diverse heritage resources of the Western Cape, including its landscapes, sites, artifacts, buildings and structures.

DCAS Head of Department Brent Walters officially welcomed the new council and emphasized the important role they play in preserving heritage for future generations. “The concept of social inclusion lies at the core of our department.” he said, “People protect what they value. The council is tasked with making decisions about heritage in the province. We hope you will breathe life into the sector but that you also take good decisions that are defendable.”

Minister Marais said that the Western Cape has a rich heritage that must be protected. “Congratulations on your appointment to the council. Through your work, you will contribute to the protection and conservation of our heritage resources. We hope that this will lead to economic growth in the region. We know that Heritage Western Cape deals with many complex issues and this council plays a very big role in that.” she said.

Premier Winde thanked the council members for using of their time to give back to the province. “If we lose our heritage, we lose our uniqueness in the world. We must look at what we can do to protect our heritage in order to retain that uniqueness. We want to set the example to the rest of the world in how to deal with matters of preservation.” he said.

The new council members are: Bongani Mgijima (Chairperson), Ron Anthony Martin, Stefan Ethan de Kock, Mandla Mdludlu, Ceciline Li-Zaan Braaf Muller, Vuyiseka Myakala, Jason Michael Knight, Emmylou Rabe Bailey, Stuart Edward Hermansen, Graham Jacobs and Katherine Elizabeth Dumbrell. Their term officially starts on 1 November 2019 and will run until 31 October 2022

Media Enquiries: 

Dr Tania Colyn
Head of Communication Service
Department of Cultural Affairs and Sport
Tel: 021 483 9877 / 076 093 4913