Fifteenth Annual Western Cape Provincial Teaching Awards 2014 | Western Cape Government


Fifteenth Annual Western Cape Provincial Teaching Awards 2014

24 June 2014
Statement by Debbie Schafer, Western Cape Minister of Education 
I am delighted to officially launch the 15th Annual Provincial Teaching Awards in the Western Cape.
The Teaching Awards recognise excellence and high levels of professionalism and provide the education fraternity with the opportunity to celebrate the achievements of outstanding teachers. Furthermore, the exceptional work done by teachers in general is highlighted.
The Western Cape Government wants to acknowledge quality, excellence and professionalism in the education sector. That is why we attach such great importance to these awards.
Often our teachers are not recognised for the important roles they play in our schools, despite the fact that, these days, being a teacher requires much more than delivering a quality curriculum for our learners. Many of our teachers have to face on-going challenges such as poverty, gang violence, abuse and crime.  
Despite these challenges, many of our educators in the Western Cape continue to go selflessly beyond the call of duty to ensure that their learners receive the best quality education. 
Being acknowledged for their service and dedication is a significant reward that they can receive, especially from their learners and school communities.
I would therefore like to appeal to all school learners, parents and communities to participate in this year’s awards by nominating educators that have made an outstanding contribution to education and our children’s lives.
Principals and SGB’s have been requested to create a nomination team which assesses the final nominations. We encourage schools to give our learners and parent body the opportunity to make submissions to the nomination team at their school.
Deserving teachers may be nominated in the following categories:
  • Excellence in Primary School Teaching
  • Excellence in Secondary School Teaching
  • Excellence in Primary School Leadership
  • Excellence in Secondary School Leadership 
  • Excellence in Grade R Teaching
  • Excellence in Special Needs Teaching
  • Excellence in Information and Communication Technology – Enhanced Teaching
  • Excellence in Mathematics Teaching (FET)
  • Excellence in Science Teaching (Physical Science, FET)
  • Lifetime Achievement Award
The closing date for the submission of all nomination forms to the district offices is 15 August 2014.
The Western Cape Provincial Awards Ceremony will take place on 7 November 2014 with the National Teachers Awards Ceremony date to be announced.
Cluster and provincial finalists (winners and runners-up) will each receive Information and Communication Technology (ICT) vouchers of different values to be redeemed at a reputable ICT service provider.
In addition, winning schools will each receive a cash award of R5 000 (cluster) and R7 500 (provincial) per school, per finalist, to be used for professional development of the teaching staff to improve classroom practice.
I look forward to celebrating excellence and quality with our finalists on 7 November 2014.
Media Enquiries: 
Jessica Shelver
Spokesperson for Minister Schafer
Cell: 076 175 0663