2005 Arts and Culture Awards | Western Cape Government


2005 Arts and Culture Awards

22 November 2005
Minister Jacobs with some of the winnersThe Western Cape Provincial Arts and Cultural Awards was initiated by the MEC in 1999. This exquisite event is held annually in order to give honour and recognition to individuals and organisations who have achieved and contributed in an outstanding manner to
  • Drama (plays, written and produced, action in verse, mime, formal or popular work, developmental projects etc)
  • Music (choirs, music recordings, bands, composition song writing, solo artists: voice or instrument, formal, popular, developmental projects)
  • Dance (ballet, traditional, modern, choreographym formal articulation, popular, developmental projects, etc)
  • Literature and Libraries (writing poetry, fiction, non-fiction and literary publications, development projects, etc)
  • Heritage (monuments, archives and history, heritage conservation, exhibition, education, research, living heritage, language, anthropology, archaeology , developmental projects, etc)
  • Visual Arts(paintings, sculpture, graphics, crafts, photography, film and video, reviews, developmental projects, etc)
  • Community Development project in the preceding year (educational projects or workshops)
  • National and international representation
  • Sustained contribution through a period of 5 years and longer

Approximately 250 guests attended the 2005 ceremony that was hosted by DCAS on 23 November 2005 at the Kirstenbosch Botanical Gardens. Lindsay Jephta, Chief Cultural Officer at the Arts and Culture Component, assisted as project manager and arranged an eventful evening by showcasing the diversity of our culture. The MEC showed great pride and appreciation when handing over the awards and entertainment through out the evening was provided by Athlone School for the Blind Jazz Band, CAFDA Dance Company, Jy Zeven & Brandon Floris, Ubuntu, Trudy Rushin and Ubuntu.

Contributions went to the following nominees:

Willie Bester for succeeded against many odds in achieving local & international fame and to become a remarkable role model. He is a visual artist who has a distinctive style and contributed much to our province.

Dance Jikeleza, a group of young and talented dancers from disadvantaged areas in Hout Bay who have performed to various local and international people and institutions.

New Africa Theatre Association who has given training of a very high quality to numerous young performers intent on improving their skills and with the desire to become part of the entertainment sector. They have had an real impact on these performers and cultural workers and the healthy state of our present cultural landscape. The Association has a nationally recognized training programme.

Mr. Phillip Dlabantu foruplifting and promoting up and coming musicians and actors, from disadvantaged communities and improving their quality of life. He created an environment by creating jobs, skills and experience for these budding actors & musicians.

FTH for creating performance and education programmes accessible to all cultures in SA, researching the integration of traditional SA story-telling with contemporary performance. Also developing, highlighting and nurturing the growth of female physical performers in South Africa.

The Arts & Media Access Centre for training countless visual minded individuals, against all odds, from marginalized communities since 1977. Training was given at a high level of integrity and quality.

J (Hans) Rabie for his positive influence on human capital and also for providing virtually every necessity for the farm museum (fruit for distilling witblits, fruit for making jam, harnesses for donkey carts, etc).

District Six Museum for pioneering visual artists in the development of exhibitions about history and heritage. Peggy Delport and Tina Smith assisted in providing a visual feast of great value to our province and nation.

Gabriel Athiros (founder of the community heritage newspapers, the Cape Odyssey and the Woodstock Whisperer) for bringing the heritage of the Western Cape to the homes of the ordinary person. He also published the stories in English, Dutch, Afrikaans, German and Xhosa and encouraging the preservation and maintenance of buildings, with heritage value.

Masiphumelele Library: librarians and volunteers for providing comprehensive services in storytelling, computer literacy, reading programmes. They also run skills training programmes at the library e.g. Khanya Khwezi Project

Dr Peter Clarke for making an enormous contribution through his graphics, poetry, paintings and writing, He worked at a graphic art workshop, Atelier Nord, in Oslo. In 1955 he won the Drum International short story award. His prose and poetry have appeared in publications in SA & overseas. He received a prestigious Ikhamanga award from President Thabo Mbeki in recognition of his life’s work.

Cape Town International Jazz Festival (formally known as North Sea Jazz Festival) existing for 6 years has become the premier jazz festival in the country. From the outset the festival was positioned to tap into the major missions and themes of the country.

Marlene le Roux for planning and implementing a CRL Youth Community programme for heritage, through the CRL. She has sourced and attained French funding for the CYT / CEMEA youth training projects over a number of years and implemented French youth programmes.

Youth in Action Gospel Group have earned themselves a big reputation within the Music Industry. They performed with some of the best musicians e.g. Rebecca Malope, Vuyo Mokoena & many more. They started from humble beginnings in Khayelitsha and performed at a Cultural Exchange Festival in Switzerland in 2003. The group also released three CD`s to date.

Nominees since 1999 were:





Basil Coetsee


Brenda Fassie


Richard Rive


Mavis Taylor


Angelo Gobbato



Joan Sonn

Sustained Contribution

Uma Mesthrie

Literature & Language

Jonathan Butler


Joseph Gabriels


Pieter-Dirk Uys

Performing Arts

Tolla van der Merwe

Performing Arts

Joseph Manca

Performing Arts

Aviva Pelham


Benoni-Jean Dehaeck


Bobby Hendricks


Hotep Galeta


Peter Clarke

Visual Arts

Sibongile Khumalo


Hein Willemse

Literature & Language

Ringo Madlingozi



Robbie Jansen


Sharleen Surtie- Richards


Sylvia Mdunyelwa


Ronald Harrison

Visual Arts

Abdullah Ibrahim

Lifetime Achievement

Sydney Zotwana

Literary arts


Cecil Graham Jacobs


Zama Dance school


Peter Voges


Sidwill Hartman


Bulelani Zantsi

Imbongi (praise singer)

Dirkie Eberson

Disability in Arts

Phyllis Spira

Lifetime Achievement

Dance For All

Sustained Contribution

Tygerberg Kinderkoor

National & International

Abaqondisi Brothers

Contribution for 10yrs in arts field

Drosdy Musem

Provincial museum of the year

Democracy X :Ixiko museum

Project of the year

Transformation Project:Ceres

Museum Programme

Lilwimi Centre


Gladys Doreen Thomas

Literacy Arts

Ernest Kleinschmidt

Sign Language

Dr Hans Fransen

Built Environment

Dr Janette Deacon


Jeremy Van Wyk

Indigenous Knowledge Systems

Media Enquiries: