Nominations for 20th Cultural Affairs Awards now open | Western Cape Government


Nominations for 20th Cultural Affairs Awards now open

13 July 2022

After a two year break, the Department of Cultural Affairs and Sport is excited to call on organisations and individuals to submit their nominations for the 20th edition of the Western Cape Cultural Affairs Awards.

This year, the awards will cover the period stretching from 2019 until 2022 to allow nominations of those in the fields of arts, culture, heritage, language, archives, libraries and museums who continued to contribute in their sectors during the Covid-19 pandemic.

The categories stretch across various fields in the arts and culture sector, and include work done by organisations and individuals. The winners of the awards will be announced at an awards evening in October this year.

Minister Anroux Marais said: “It is wonderful that we can host this event again this year. Our practitioners in the arts and culture sector have worked so hard and under difficult circumstances over the past two years and it is important that we acknowledge and celebrate their contribution within their various fields.”

Nomination forms are available at and nominations can be made directly by completing this online form. Manual nomination forms may also be requested from the department. Nominations close on 12 August 2022. More information on the awards and winners of previous ceremonies can be found here:

Media Enquiries: 

Tania Colyn
Acting Spokesperson for Minister Anroux Marais
Tel: 076 093 4913