Western Cape Cultural Commission | Western Cape Government

Western Cape Cultural Commission

Western Cape Cultural Commission Logo
  rounded corner
rounded corner

Are you looking for funding for your Arts and Culture project?
Click here to apply

  rounded corner
rounded corner
  rounded corner
rounded corner


The Western Cape Cultural Commission (WCCC) is a statutory body that advises the Minister of Cultural Affairs and Sport on the preservation, promotion and development of arts and culture in the communities it represents. The commission members are nominated by the public and appointed by the Minister.

The Commission consists of three committees, with the chairperson of each constituting the Executive Committee. Cultural Councils and Facilities are the two committees of the WCCC. In addition to committee meetings, plenary sessions are held.


The committees of the WCCC work towards the services required of their respective portfolios:

  • The Cultural Councils Committee considers matters of policy, applications from the cultural councils and co-ordinates these registered cultural councils.
  • The Facilties Committee guides the annual tariff review and matters of facility maintenance.

Execution of work

Officials of the Department of Cultural Affairs and Sport (DCAS) in the Western Cape fulfil the executive and administrative functions associated with the WCCC.


The WCCC members for the 2018-2021 term are:

PM Baard
HJ Benjamin
C Fani
ZP Fefeza
Z Jama
PL Joko
JJ Joubert
JC Witbooi
HM Loubser
LG Nokwaza
NJ Nongalaza
M Rall
E Ryke
VE Sampson

Call for nominations

The Western Cape Provincial Parliament’s Standing Committee on Cultural Affairs and Sport invites the general public to nominate suitable persons to serve on the Western Cape Cultural Commission. Nominations must be made on the prescribed nomination form (below) and must be submitted by no later than 12:00 on Friday, 10 September 2021.

For more information, please read the advertisement document:

To make an nomination, please use the nomination form:

021 483 9722
021 483 9711
Street Address:

3rd Floor, Protea Assurance Building, Greenmarket Square, Cape Town, 8001

Postal Address:

Western Cape Cultural Commission,
P.O. Box 1775
Cape Town

Overseeing Government Body: (Western Cape Government)
The content on this page was last updated on 17 August 2021