Western Cape Language Committee | Western Cape Government

Western Cape Language Committee

rounded corner
rounded corner


Ensuring the equal status of the three official languages of the province.

Monitoring the use of the official languages by the provincial government of the Western Cape.

Promoting multilingualism.

Actively promoting the development of previously marginalised indigenous languages, including South African Sign Language (SASL).

Advising the Minister on language matters.

Advising the Pan South African Language Board on language matters affecting the Western Cape.

rounded corner
rounded corner


The Western Cape Language Committee (WCLC) was established in 1998 in accordance with the Western Cape Provincial Language Act, Act No 13 of 1998. The committee consists of 11 members.

Appointment of members

The Standing Committee of the Western Cape Provincial Parliament (WCPP) invites the general public to nominate persons to serve as members on the WCLC. In full compliance with the Western Cape Provincial Languages Act (Act no 13 of 1998), the Standing Committee short-lists candidates that meets the requirements and submits them to the Minister of Cultural Affairs and Sport for final selection. The demographics and percentage of language speakers are taken into account to ensure a balanced Committee that will be able to deliver on its mandate.


KR Mkhize
L Nokwaza
N Nyembezi
SD Vermeulen
A Humphries-Heyns
R Baartman
L Lesch
G Lentz

In terms of section 17 of the Western Cape Provincial Languages Act, 1998, officials in the Language Services component of the Western Cape Department of Cultural Affairs and Sport perform the administrative work of the WCLC. 

Call for nominations

The Western Cape Provincial Parliament’s Standing Committee on Community Safety, Cultural Affairs and Sport, in compliance with section 7 of the Western Cape Provincial Languages Act, 1998 (Act 13 of 1998), invites the general public to nominate suitable persons as members of the Western Cape Language Committee (WCLC). These positions are not permanent forms of employment. Appointed members will only serve a full three-year term of office.

Nominations must be made on the prescribed nomination form and must be submitted by no later than 12:00 on Friday 10 September 2021. Nomination forms are available on the Western Cape Provincial Parliament’s website at www.wcpp.gov.za. Copies may also be requested from the Standing Committee’s Procedural Officer, Mr Waseem Matthews, from Monday to Friday between 07:00 and 15:30.

For more information, please read the advertisement document:




021 483 9672
021 483 9675 / 021 483 9673
Street Address:

3rd Floor, Protea Assurance Building, Greenmarket Square, Cape Town, 8000

Postal Address:

Private Bag X9067, Cape Town, 8000

Contact Person:
Jane Moleleki
Overseeing Government Body: (Western Cape Government)
The content on this page was last updated on 18 August 2021