Prince Albert Local Municipality: Overview | Western Cape Government

Prince Albert Local Municipality: Overview

Prince Albert Municipality - ©Photo by: Sandra Farmer


The Prince Albert Local Municipality lies on the southern edge of the Great Karoo, a semi-desert region of the Western Province. The municipality provides services to Leeu Gamka, Prince Albert Road, Klaarstroom and Prince Albert and is also responsible for various facilities in these areas.


Local municipal powers

Local municipalities are mandated to:

  • Pass by-laws (local laws and regulations) about any of the functions they are responsible for. By-laws may not go against any national laws.
  • Approve budgets and development plans. Every year, a municipal budget must be passed that sets down how money will be raised and spent. The municipality must also approve the Integrated Development Plan (IDP).
  • Impose rates and other taxes; for example, property tax.
  • Charge service fees for using municipal services like water, electricity and libraries.
  • Impose fines for people who break municipal by-laws; for example, traffic fines or fines for littering.
  • Borrow money. The council can take out a loan for a development or other project and is permitted to use municipal assets as surety.

Local municipal functions

The Constitution places the following areas of responsibility on local municipalities:

  • Electricity delivery
  • Water for household use
  • Sewerage and sanitation
  • Storm water systems
  • Refuse removal
  • Firefighting services
  • Municipal health services
  • Decisions around land use
  • Local roads
  • Local public transport
  • Street trading
  • Abattoirs and fresh food markets
  • Parks and recreational areas
  • Libraries and other community facilities
  • Local tourism

Source: Prince Albert Ratepayers' and Residents' Association.


The content on this page was last updated on 21 April 2017