Winners of the After School Leadership Excellence Award Announced | Western Cape Government



Winners of the After School Leadership Excellence Award Announced

6 November 2017

On Friday evening, Premier Helen Zille presented the After School Leadership Excellence Award to principals who are leading the way in providing creative and dynamic after school programmes at their schools.

This is the second year this special ministerial award has been presented at the WCED’s Provincial Teaching Awards ceremony and forms part of the After School Game Changer, which is focused on learners having regular and sustained participation in quality after school programmes. The game changer target is at least 20% (or 112 000) of no-fee and low-fee learners attending after school activities regularly and consistently by 2019.

Mr Roy van Rooyen of Rietenbosch Primary School is this year’s gold prize winner and was awarded R20 000 in prize money.

Located in Cloetesville, Rietenbosch Primary School serves some of the most vulnerable and poorest communities in Stellenbosch. Learners enjoy access to a variety of after school activities including sport, arts and culture, life skills and academic support programmes. This is largely the result of a number of partnerships the school has formed with the private sector, including with Stellenbosch University, which has increased opportunities available to learners.

Mr van Rooyen’s motto is “lead by example” and he is highly involved in sports at his school, acting as a referee at mini cricket and mini rugby matches as well as an official at athletics meetings.

A commendation award was also presented to Principal Mathipa Poopedi from Sinethemba Secondary School in Browns Farm, Philippi.

In 2013, the school was selected as the district site for a Kutlwanong Centre for Maths, Science and Technology. Kutlwanong is a non-profit organisation that provides maths and science after school tuition to township students in grades 10 to 12. The programme aims to assist all its learners to achieve a minimum of 75% in these subjects, and is designed to bridge the gap between disadvantaged learners and those from high-income families through the provision of free textbooks, stationery, meals and high quality tutors.

Mr Poopedi has served as the Kutlwanong centre manager from its inception and currently manages 24 educators and oversees 450 learners from schools in Khayelitsha, Mitchell’s Plain, Athlone, and Lansdowne.

The Kutlwanong programme has led to a marked improvement in maths and science. “All the top learners in the feeder schools are coming from the project,” Mr Poopedi said. This included Siphelele Xabendlini, the Western Cape’s top science student for 2016, who achieved a 92% pass in maths and 100% in science.

The following short listed principals were also recognised for their commitment to providing quality after school programmes at their schools:

  • Halbert Mlindazwe from Bongolethu Primary School;
  • Juan Julius from Hout Bay High School;
  • Zola Pahlana from ID Mkize Secondary School;
  • Fezile MguQulwa from Zimasa Community School; and
  • Sheridon Adonis from Swellendam Sekondêre Skool.

While presenting the awards, Premier Helen Zille said: “Schools with good leadership have opened their doors to embrace a host of after school activities that help learners to reach their full potential. Now in its second year, this award aims to celebrate the principals who recognise this, and who are actively building comprehensive after school programmes.”

For more information on the After School Leadership Excellence Award winners and the Game Changer please contact Bridget Hannah at or on 021 483 9953/ 084 211 5020.

You can also visit the After School Game Changer website:


Note to editors: You can access photographs from the event at this link:

The Pin Code for this file is: 54566656143125415785372425761312

Media Enquiries: 

Michael Mpofu
Spokesperson for Premier Helen Zille
071 564 5427
021 483 4584