Provincial Govan Mbeki Awards 2014 | Western Cape Government



Create news items for the News and Speeches section on the home page. News items also filter through to the appropriate departmental home pages and relevant ministerial pages.
(Western Cape Government)

Provincial Govan Mbeki Awards 2014

4 June 2014

The Govan Mbeki Awards Ceremony was held with much fanfare on the evening of 27 May.

The ceremony showcased a culture of excellence in the provision of human settlements solutions in the province. The awards also provided an opportunity to recognise our sector efforts, as well as accomplishments and milestones within the programmes that are outlined in the National Departmental Strategic Outcome 8.

Programme Director, Nigel Pierce of Good Hope FM fame, amused the audience with brief stories and even a quick spell at the keyboard.

Much to the relief of all present, his somewhat short-lived attempt at being a keyboard player came to an abrupt end as the Top Dog band members thankfully took up their rightful places on the stage.

The jubilation and joy of the recipients receiving the various awards was made evident by the rapturous applause and well wishes extended.

For Minister Madikizela, the event held even greater significance, as it was his first public engagement since taking up the mantle earlier that week, to once again head up the Western Cape Ministry of Human Settlements.

Winners and Runners-up:

Best Informal Settlements Upgraded Project (UISP):

  • Thembalethu (Winner)
  • Wolwedans (1st Runner up)
  • Vision 2002 (2nd Runner up)

Best Finance Linked Subsidy Project (FLISP):

  • Fountain Head (Winner)

Best Enhanced People’s Housing Project (EPHP):

  • Vision 2002 Oupad (Winner)
  • Drommedaris (Runner up)

Best Social Housing Project:

  • Steenberg Steen Villa Complex (Winner)
  • Bothasig Gardens (Runner up)

Best Integrated Residential Development Programme (IRDP):

  • Arniston (Winner)
  • Koelpark (1st Runner up)
  • Matjiesfontein (2nd Runner up)

Best Woman Contractor:

  • Masiqhame Trading 28cc (Winner)
  • Inyameko Trading 618cc (Runner up)

Best Youth Contractor:

  • BJ Plaatjies (Winner)

Best Priority Project National:

  • Drommedaris (Winner)

Minister’s Merit Award:

  • Mellon Housing Initiative (Winner)

Merit Awards - Best Enhanced People’s Housing Project (EPHP):

  • Sakhuxolo Housing Project – Wallacedene (Winner)
  • Luxolo Housing Project – Phillipi (Winner)
Media Enquiries: 

Zalisile Mbali
Spokesman for Minister Bonginkosi Madikizela
Tel: 021 483 4798
Cell: 078 600 7729