Minister Winde Crowns Provincial Lilizela Tourism Awards Winners | Western Cape Government



Create news items for the News and Speeches section on the home page. News items also filter through to the appropriate departmental home pages and relevant ministerial pages.
(Provincial Cabinet, Western Cape Government)

Minister Winde Crowns Provincial Lilizela Tourism Awards Winners

26 August 2013

Fifteen local accommodation establishments are in line to take top honours at the national Department of Tourism’s inaugural awards.

The Lilizela Tourism Awards were launched by national Tourism Minister Marthinus van Schalkwyk, at Indaba 2013 in May to recognise tourism businesses who enhance South Africa’s global destination competitiveness.

Alan Winde, Minister of Finance, Economic Development and Tourism, announced the Western Cape’s 15 winners, out of 47 finalists, at the provincial awards ceremony on Friday (23 August 2013) at the Westin Grand Hotel.

Minister Winde wished the Western Cape entrants well ahead of the competition, commending the finalists for their efforts in their industry.

“Tourism is one of our biggest growth sectors and we need to continue to be a competitive and attractive destination for visitors. One of the benefits of this competition is that our local finalists gain exposure for themselves and for the province, which could be a boost for domestic tourism,” said Minister Winde.

Winning entrants ranged from luxury seaside accommodation along the Atlantic Seaboard to caravan parks on the Garden Route.

The province’s accommodation sector achieved 16.3 million bed nights last year. In 2012, the Western Cape welcomed 1.3 million visitors.

Thembi Kunene, the interim chairperson of the Lilizela Tourism Awards, congratulated the winners, adding that their efforts “have ensured that the Western Cape is a major player in our country’s tourism sector,” said Kunene.

“We now look forward to honouring the national winners at the first ever national awards ceremony on 12 September,” she said.

The provincial winners are:

  • Atlantic Point Backpackers
  • Earthbound B&B
  • The Knysna Belle
  • Keurbooms Lagoon Caravan Park
  • Dibiki Holiday Resort
  • Grand Dedale Country House
  • Bonne Esperance Guest House
  • 138 Marine Beachfront Guesthouse
  • The Last Word Constantia
  • Eendracht Hotel
  • The Hyde Hotel
  • Cape Grace
  • Charlotte House
  • The Library
  • Villa Lavaya
Media Enquiries: 
Bronwynne Jooste
Spokesperson for Minister Alan Winde
Tel: 021 483 3550
Cell: 082 454 4365