Geographical Names | Western Cape Government

Geographical Names


The Western Cape Provincial Geographical Names Committee (WCPGNC)


The WCPGNC is established in terms of the South African Geographical Names Act, 1998, and its members are appointed by the provincial Minister for Cultural Affairs, Sport and Recreation. The Committee makes recommendations to the South African Geographical Names Council (SAGNC) and, through the SAGNC, the national Minister for Arts and Culture on matters pertaining to geographical names in the Western Cape.

The Committee is established in terms of section 2(2)(a) of the South African Geographical Names Act, 1998, and consists of residents of the Western Cape nominated to serve on the Committee and appointed by the provincial minister for a period of three years, as well as ex-officio representatives of the South African Post Office, the national Department of Water Affairs, the provincial Department of Economic Development and Tourism, the provincial Department of Transport and Public Works, the provincial Department of Local Government, SALGA Western Cape, the provincial Department of Environmental Affairs and Development Planning, the national Department of Rural Development and Land Reform and the Names Society of Southern Africa (NSA). The Chairperson the WCPGNC also serves as the Western Cape representative on the SAGNC. The Provincial Committee may co-opt members to the Committee based on their area of expertise and the application being considered at the time.


Read more about the WCPGNC online.


The Chairperson: Western Cape Provincial Geographical Names Committee
Attention: Mrs Anita van der Merwe
3rd floor Protea Assurance Building
Greenmarket Square
Cape Town, 8000
Tel: 021 483 9721
Fax: 021 483 9845


Provided by:
Government Body: (Department of Cultural Affairs & Sport, Western Cape Government)
The content on this page was last updated on 22 June 2018