Knysna Local Municipality: Overview | Western Cape Government

22Covid-19 Alerts

COVID-19 Vaccine Information and Dashboard

View Vaccine information

TB Information and Dashboard

View TB information

Knysna Local Municipality: Overview

Photographs copyright South African Tourism


The Knysna Local Municipality lies within the southern region of the Western Cape in the middle of the Garden Route and stretches from Sedgefield in the west to Knoetzie in the east. It provides services to Rheenendal, Belvidere Estate, Knysna, Sedgefield, Brenton and Knoetzie. It is also responsible for the various facilities for these areas.

Local municipal powers

Local municipalities are mandated to:

  • Pass by-laws (local laws and regulations) about any of the functions they are responsible for. By-laws may not go against any national laws.
  • Approve budgets and development plans. Every year, a municipal budget must be passed that sets down how money will be raised and spent. The municipality must also approve the Integrated Development Plan (IDP).
  • Impose rates and other taxes; for example, property tax.
  • Charge service fees for using municipal services like water, electricity and libraries.
  • Impose fines for people who break municipal by-laws; for example, traffic fines or fines for littering.
  • Borrow money. The council can take out a loan for a development or other project and is permitted to use municipal assets as surety.


Local municipal functions

The Constitution confers the following areas of responsibility on local municipalities:

  • Electricity delivery
  • Water for household use
  • Sewerage and sanitation
  • Storm water systems
  • Refuse removal
  • Firefighting services
  • Municipal health services
  • Decisions around land use
  • Local roads
  • Local public transport
  • Street trading
  • Abattoirs and fresh food markets
  • Parks and recreational areas
  • Libraries and other community facilities
  • Local tourism
Photographs copyright South African Tourism



The content on this page was last updated on 20 April 2017