Brewelskloof Hospital: Overview | Western Cape Government

Brewelskloof Hospital: Overview


Untitled Document Untitled Document


Quality health for all.


We undertake to provide equitable access to health in partnership with the relevant stakeholders within a balanced and well managed health system.

Brewelskloof Hospital is a specialised TB hospital for the Cape Winelands (East) and Overberg districts in the Western Cape, South Africa.

The hospital admits both adults and children and is one of six TB hospitals in the Western Cape.

It is also the designated multi-drug resistant (MDR) TB specialist centre and is responsible for the management of all drug resistant TB patients in the region.

The hospital currently has 199 beds for TB patients:

  • 89 male (24 beds for drug resistant cases)
  • 60 female (24 beds for drug resistant cases)
  • 50 children (10 beds for drug resistant cases)

Admission criteria

Diagnosed TB patients:

  • who are too ill / weak to take medication at the local clinic and therefore needs admission to hospital
  • who have toxic side effects of TB drugs
  • who have resistant TB strains and needs special treatment regimens
  • who need injections and cannot receive it on a daily basis at the nearest clinic
  • who have a history of defaulting TB treatment
  • who have very poor social circumstances

Visiting hours:

Monday - Friday 10:00 - 11:00, 15:00 - 16:00 and 19:00 - 20:00 Saturday & Sunday 10:00 - 16:00 Public Holidays 10:00 - 16:00


      Department of Health - Western Cape
    Tuberculosis Fact Sheet
    Health Facilty Board (HFB)
    University of Cape Town
    South African TB Vaccine Initiative (SATVI)
    Department of Health- National
    Aeras Global Tuberculosis Vaccine Foundation     TB-Vac A cluster for tuberculosis vaccine developments     The Stop TB Partnership     World Health Organisation     The European and Developing Countries Clinical Trials Partnership     The International Union against Tuberculosis and Lung Disease     National Institutes of Health     Centre for Disease Control and Prevention     TB Alliance     Tuberculosis Division     TB-HIV Division     National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Diseases (NIAID)  
The content on this page was last updated on 20 August 2013