Tygerberg Children's Hospital | Western Cape Government

Tygerberg Children's Hospital


Tygerberg Children's Hospital


Tygerberg Children's Hospital logoThe Tygerberg Children's Hospital was opened in March 2000, after a start had been made to combine all services for children in the C Block. There are 308 childrens beds. Tygerberg Children's Hospital (TCH) mostly serves the poor community within its geographical area. It is more or less half of the 2,4 million children living in the Western Cape who need specialist medical care. Specialist care is offered to areas of the Northern and Eastern Cape, and Tygerberg Children's Hospital support paediatric care in other African countries. Every year, approximately 16 000 babies and children are admitted to TCH and more than 100 000 children receive specialist medical care as outpatients.

TCH serves as the academic hospital for the University of Stellenbosch, the University of the Western Cape and other tertiary institutions, as well as the Provincial Government of the Western Cape. Clinical research into diseases affecting children in South Africa, such as tuberculosis, HIV/AIDS and cancer, as well as the management of neonatal diseases, is also a focus of our work at this hospital.

In order to make the most of the delivery of the entire spectrum of quality child health care to our mostly poor community, TCH is currently being restructured and upgraded from funds received through the TCH Trust. The result of this development project will be a child and parent friendly environment in an independent children's hospital. TCH will work as a functional unit, specifically dedicated to the needs of children and newborn babies, within Tygerberg Academic Hospital.

Contact details of wards


Funds Procurement Manager:
Mr M Kling
Tel: 021 938 9583
Cell: 083 987 5178
Fax: 021 938 9138
Email: mkling@sun.ac.za

Postal Address:
C/o Department of Paediatrics and Child Health
P.O. Box 19063

Provided by:
Government Body: (Department of Health and Wellness, Western Cape Government)
The content on this page was last updated on 20 June 2018