Overstrand Municipality Basic Municipal Services | Western Cape Government

22Covid-19 Alerts

COVID-19 Vaccine Information and Dashboard

View Vaccine information

Other COVID-19 Information and Dashboard

View COVID-19 information

TB Information and Dashboard

View TB information

Overstrand Municipality Basic Municipal Services


The Overstrand Municipality has its head office in Hermanus, but municipal services are delivered on a decentralised basis from offices in Gansbaai, Stanford, Hermanus and Kleinmond. The municipality is demarcated into 13 wards:


  • Franskraal and Masakhane;
  • Gansbaai, De Kelders, Kleinbaai and Blompark;
  • Hermanus and a portion of Westcliff; 
  • Mount Pleasant, Hemel-en-Aarde Valley and a portion of Westcliff;
  • Zwelihle South;
  • Zwelihle North;
  • Sandbaai;
  • Hawston, Fisherhaven and Honingklip;
  • Kleinmond, Mountain View and Palmiet;
  • Betty's Bay, Pringle Bay, Rooiels, Overhills and Proteadorp;
  • Stanford, Baardskeerdersbos, Pearly Beach, Viljoenshof, Withoogte and Buffeljachts;
  • Zwelihle North-West;
  • Onrus and Vermont.

The Municipality provides the following basic services:

  • refuse removal
  • electricity
  • water
  • sewerage service
  • rates collection
  • tourism
  • drainage
  • building plan approval
  • firefighting
  • law enforcement and traffic
  • libraries
  • municipal court


The Municipality is also responsible for:

  • economic and social development
  • area management
  • financial management
  • environmental services
  • housing and social upliftment
  • sport, recreation and culture

For more information about municipal services please contact general enquiries:
Tel: 028 313 8000
e-mail: enquiries@overstrand.gov.za
Website: www.overstrand.gov.za


Provided by:
Government Body:
The content on this page was last updated on 5 November 2019