Cape Town Metro Police

The Cape Town Metropolitan Police (previously known as Cape Town City Police) was established on the 1st of December 2001 in terms of the South African Police Services Amendment Act 1998. In 2007, the Metro Police underwent restructuring and had a name change to align itself with the national norm of a Metropolitan Police Department. The main function of the Metro Police includes traffic policing, by-law enforcement and crime prevention.

However, they do not investigate cases after arrests, as this is the function of the Detective Service of the South African Police Service (SAPS). The Cape Town Metro Police can be distinguished from SAPS (who wear blue uniforms) and traffic officers (who wear light blue uniforms) by their khaki trousers and either beige shirt for officers and khaki combat trousers, navy blue shirts for operational members. You will find them either walking on foot beat being visible within the Central Business District (CBD) area of Cape Town or patrolling the streets and urban areas combating traffic offences and bylaw offences.

The Metro Police form part of the three enforcement agencies operating under the Safety and Security Directorate with all being accountable to the Safety and Security Portfolio Committee.

There is a committee called the Civilian Oversight Committee, which deals with misconduct, corruption and unethical behaviour in the Metro Police. Most notable success of the Metro Police was their key involvement and active participation keeping local public and international guest safe during the FIFA Soccer Word Cup™.

Physical Address:
Cape Town Metropolitan Police Department
101 Hertzog Boulevard, Cape Town, 8000
Postal Address:

Cape Town
Metropolitan Police Department
PO Box
Should you want to comment on Annual Police Plan:
Provided At: These facility categories:
Provided by:
Government Body:
The content on this page was last updated on 22 January 2018