Social sector vaccinations extended | Western Cape Government

News

News

Create news items for the News and Speeches section on the home page. News items also filter through to the appropriate departmental home pages and relevant ministerial pages.
2021
(Western Cape Government)

Social sector vaccinations extended

25 July 2021

The vaccination rollout for the Social Development sector in the Western Cape, which includes the Early Childhood Development (ECD) workforce and social service professionals, has been extended to Friday, 30 July by the National Department of Social Development.

The National Department of Social Development (NDSD) announced last week that the Social Development sector would be prioritised for vaccinations due to the essential nature of the services rendered by the sector.

In order to reach as many people as possible, members of the social service sector will be able to walk-in at their designated vaccination site, and should bring their identity documents, confirmation of employment at an ECD, or proof of professional registration. The National Department of Health has loaded an estimated 10 000 ECD workers in the Western Cape onto the Electronic Vaccination Data System (EVDS).

The South African Council of Social Service Professionals has also facilitated the registration of its members – who include social workers from NGOs and those in private practice, social auxiliary workers, and child and youth care workers.

Seventeen vaccination sites around the province have been made available for this process. We would like to encourage all those who received an SMS to report to their assigned sites on the scheduled dates and times.

Social service professionals who have not received an SMS, and are over the age of 35, are urged to register themselves on the EVDS system, so that they too can make use of this opportunity.

ECD staff and social service professionals can find out whether they have been loaded onto the EVDS by calling: 0800 029 999 before going to the vaccination sites.

What to bring to the vaccination site?

  • Identity Document (ID) or passport
  • Medical aid card for those who have medical aid, if not you will still be vaccinated
  • For registered social service professionals: SACSSP proof of registration (registration card, receipt or similar that shows your registration number)
  • Proof of employment at an ECD where applicable

ECDs who have queries about their sites may contact the following representatives:

Region

Representative

Email Address

Head Office

Nomazizi Mguda

Nomazizi.Mguda@westerncape.gov.za

Head Office

Shirly Davis

Shirley.Davis@westerncape.gov.za

Cape Winelands

Charmian Stanfield

(Worcester, Drakenstein, Paarl, Stellenbosch)

Charmian. Stanfield@westerncape.gov.za

Overberg

Leretsene Nkgudi

 

(Caledon, Langeberg, Cape Agulhas, Overstrand)

Lerentsene.Nkgudi@westerncape.gov.za

Metro North

Jolene Barry

(Atlantis, Cape Town, Bellville, Delft, Langa, Elsies River)

Jolene.Barry@westerncape.gov.za

Eden Karoo

Charmaine Brown

(George, Kannaland, Hessequa, Mossel Bay, Oudtshoorn, Knysna, Beaufort West)

Charmaine.Brown@westerncape.gov.za

West Coast

Janine Koelenberg

(Vredenburg, Saldanha, Malmesbury, Piketburg, Vredendal, Clanwilliam)

Janine.Koelenberg@westerncape.gov.za

Metro East 1

Vuyokazi Nombewu

(Kraaifontein, Khayelitsha, Somerset West, Eerste River)

Vuyokazi.Nombewu@westerncape.gov.za

Metro East 2

Singatwa Kaas-Ndwanda

(Kraaifontein, Khayelitsha, Somerset West, Eerste River)

Singatwa.Kaas-Ndwanda@westerncape.gov.za

Metro South 1

Mzolisi Zatu

(Wynberg, Retreat, Fish Hoek, Athlone, Mitchells Plain, Philippi, Gugulethu)

Mzolisi.Zatu@westerncape.gov.za

Metro South 2

Badroonesa Govender

(Wynberg, Retreat, Fish Hoek, Athlone, Mitchells Plain, Philippi, Gugulethu)

Badroonesa.Govender@westerncape.gov.za

 

Media Enquiries: 

Esther Lewis

Head of Communications

Department of Social Development

E-mail: Esther.Lewis@westerncape.gov.za

Website: www.westerncape.gov.za