Western Cape Paralympic Athletes 2016 | Western Cape Government

Western Cape Paralympic Athletes 2016

The 2016 Paralympic Games will officially open on Friday 7 September 2016.  Team SA will be represented by 45 South African athletes that will represent the country in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil to go for gold. The Western Cape Paralympians make up 40% of Team SA, with 18 paralympians from across the province.

When Western Cape Minister of Cultural Affairs and Sport, Anroux Marais, congratulated the athletes from the Western Cape who were selected to represent South Africa at the 2016 Paralympic Games in Rio de Janeiro she said, “The Paralympians hailing from the Western Cape have always done us proud at the Games. There is no doubt in my mind that they are well prepared to compete against the rest of the world and bring the gold back home. Our Paralympians are exceptional examples to all South Africans. Despite the many challenges they face on a daily basis, their will to excel has afforded them the golden opportunity to represent our country at the world’s most esteemed sporting event”.   

The Paralympic athletes from the Western Cape who’ll  be representing our country are:

Aquatics (Swimming)

  • Achmat Hassiem
  • Hendri Herbst


  • Ilse Carstens
  • Anrune Liebenberg
  • Ntombizanele Situ


  • Dyan Buis
  • Charl Du Toit
  • Arnu Fourie
  • Reinhardt Hamman
  • Hilton Langenhoven
  • Mpumelelo Mhlongo
  • Jonathan Ntutu
  • Stephanus Van Der Merwe


  • Ernst Van Dyk
  • Craig Ridgard
  • Goldy Fuchs


  • Justine Asher
  • Roxanne Burns

We wish our athletes the best in their pursuit of gold, silver and bronze.

Watch: Team SA - Paralympics 2016

The content on this page was last updated on 31 August 2016