Western Cape Language Policy | Western Cape Government

Western Cape Language Policy

(Department of Cultural Affairs & Sport, Western Cape Government)

The Western Cape Language Policy is a first of its kind in South Africa. The aim of the policy is to ensure the equal status and use of the three official provincial languages, Afrikaans, English and isiXhosa. It also supports and promotes South African Sign Language, marginalised languages and the other official South African languages. The policy is available in English, Afrikaans and isiXhosa.

Western Cape Language Policy 

Wes-Kaapse Taalbeleid

UMgaqo-nkqubo weeLimi weNtshona Koloni

Read more about the activities of the Language Services of the Department of Cultural Affairs and Sport (DCAS) online.

The content on this page was last updated on 23 March 2020