Nominations for our Cultural Affairs Awards are open! | Western Cape Government

Nominations for our Cultural Affairs Awards are open!

Enter now! Do you know of an organisation or individual who has had a big impact on the Western Cape’s culture and heritage? Then why not nominate them for this year’s Cultural Affairs Awards? The categories include; arts, culture, language, heritage, museums, geographical names, archives and libraries. The awards ceremony is scheduled to take place in February 2016. 

What are the Cultural Affairs Awards?

The awards were established in 1999 to acknowledge individuals, groups or organisations which have contributed to strengthening our shared heritage and culture in the Western Cape. Consideration is also given to the extent to which nominees have had a positive impact on nation building, youth development and the empowerment of women.

How do I nominate?

To nominate people for any category of the awards, you will need to fill in a nomination form and submit it no later than 30 September 2015.

Criteria for nominations

Individuals, groups or organisations which you choose to nominate must meet certain criteria. In order to be nominated they must:

  • be a resident of the Western Cape,
  • demonstrate a commitment to meeting the development needs of communities in the province, and
  • have extensive knowledge and experience in their fields.

Other considerations include whether they have had a substantial positive impact in the province, by helping to create the Western Cape Government’s goal of creating a socially inclusive province.


1. Arts and Culture 

  • Best contribution to visual arts, including public arts.
  • Best contribution to performing arts: dance.
  • Best contribution to performing arts: drama.
  • Best contribution to the performing arts: music.
  • Best contribution to the literary arts (including poetry, prose, play-writing).
  • Best contribution to crafts and/or design.
  • Best contribution to the promotion of cultural activities.
  • Best project: disability in the visual, performing and literary arts.
  • Best project to promote and preserve an Indigenous art form.

2. Museums 

  • Best museum.
  • Best new museum project.
  • Best museum volunteer.

3. Language 

  • Neville Alexander Award for the promotion of multilingualism.
  • Best project to promote South African Sign Language or the marginalised indigenous languages of the Western Cape.
  • Best contribution to language development.

4. Heritage

  • Best heritage project.
  • Best heritage impact assessment or heritage report.
  • Most active and objective conservation body, volunteer or municipality.

5. Libraries 

  • Best public library: children’s services.
  • Best public library: youth services.
  • Best small public library (1-3 staff members).
  • Best medium-sized public library (4-8 staff members).
  • Best large public library (9+ staff members).

6. Archives 

  • Archives advocacy award.
  • Most influential person in records management.
  • Emerging leader in archives and records management.
  • Best contributor to archival heritage.

7. Geographical Names 

  • Best contribution to the standardisation and/or public awareness of geographical names.

The awards ceremony

The ceremony is hosted annually by the Western Cape Minister of Cultural Affairs and Sport, and has become an opportunity to showcase the positive contributions individuals and organisations have been making to foster a sense of nation building.

For more information you can visit the Western Cape Department of Cultural Affairs and Sports overview of the Cultural Affairs Awards.

Contact person: Xolisa Tshongolo
Tel:  021 483 9869


Cultural Affairs Awards Audio Clips






Cultural Affairs Awards Posters:


Cultural Affairs Awards Poster English


Cultural Affairs Awards Poster Afrikaans


Cultural Affairs Awards Poster Isixhosa

The content on this page was last updated on 23 September 2015