Late school admissions | Western Cape Government

Late school admissions

late school admissionsAs the 2021 school year starts, some parents are still looking for places at schools in the Western Cape. Officials of the Western Cape Education Department (WCED) will work closely with schools when they reopen on Monday, 25 January 2021 to assist parents still looking for places for their children in school.

The promotion, progression, and transfers in and out of schools have been concluded during the final weeks of the 2020 school year and this should help the department to identify available places for your child. 

Parents are however asked to be patient as popular schools have long waiting lists. Learner enrolment in the Western Cape has increased by an average of 18 248 every year since 2012. This does make it difficult to find accommodation and place all learners, particularly at the start of the year.

In terms of the South African Schools Act, schools have to wait until the 10th school day before they can de-register learners whose parents have not informed the school that they will not be returning to school before they can give away any places that may have opened. Parents will need to keep this in mind as WCED officials try and place all learners as soon as possible.

In some cases, parents apply to only 3 or 4 top schools in the province or the area and they then exclude themselves from very good alternatives because they did not consider other options. Parents are encouraged to apply to a wide range of schools.

The WCED will do the following to help you find a place for your child:

  • Work from the list of unplaced learners on the system to see who still needs a place.
  • Identify which schools still have available places and advise parents of these options.
  • Identify where additional classes can be opened in 2021.
  • Will contact you once places are identified, and they will advise you on the options that become available.

Parents in the Western Cape and other provinces, who want to change schools, but have not managed to secure places in new schools are encouraged to keep their children in their current schools.

Can I still register my child?

If you haven’t registered your child for the 2021 academic year, or are still waiting to be placed, you can contact the relevant District Office. If you’re unsure about which district to approach, contact the Call Centre on 0861 923 322.

Here’s what you can do if your child has not been placed in a school:

  • Contact the schools where you applied to make sure they know that you still need a place.
  • Ask the school to re-consider and ask that the learner be placed on the waiting list.
  • Contact other schools in your area as places could become available.
  • Contact the district office to make sure that the learner is on the list of unplaced learners.

You can also contact the following officials who are responsible for managing school admissions.

Head Office

Patricia Van Niekerk
Tel: 021 467 2171
Email: Patricia.VanNiekerk@westerncape.gov.za

Haneline Jaftha
Tel: 021 467 2126
Email: Haneline.Jaftha@westerncape.gov.za

Jenni Addinall
Tel: 021 467 2603
Email: Jennifer.Addinall@westerncape.gov.za 

Metro Central

Duwell Spielman
Tel: 021 514 6766
Email: Duwell.Spielman@westerncape.gov.za

Julie Cameron
Tel: 021 514 6925
Email: Julie.Cameron@westerncape.gov.za

Metro East

Patrick Mdledle
Tel: 021 900 7147
Email: Patrick.Mdledle@westerncape.gov.za

Zukiswa Cwayi
Tel: 021 900 7040
Email: Zukisa.Cwayi@westerncape.gov.za

Metro North

Debra Scheffers
Tel: 021 938 3087
Email: Debra.Scheffers@westerncape.gov.za

Patrick Van Wyk
Tel: 021 938 3178
Email: Patrick.VanWyk@westerncape.gov.za

Metro South

Sheldon Lingeveldt
Tel: 021 374 4107
Email: Sheldon.Lingeveldt@westerncape.gov.za

Lucinda Jordan
Tel: 021-704 9376
Email: Lucinda.Jordan@westerncape.gov.za

Anastasia Rose
Tel: 021-370 2120
Email: Anastasia.Rose@westerncape.gov.za

Cape Winelands

Jean Claude Frolicks
Tel: 023 348 0613
Email: Jean-Claude.Frolicks@westerncape.gov.za

Kevin Van Eeden
Tel: 023 348 0635
Email: Kevin.VanEeden@westerncape.gov.za

Eden and Central Karoo

Ricardo Davids
Tel: 044 803 8370
Email: Ricardo.Davids@westerncape.gov.za

Johan Van Der Merwe
Tel: 044 803 8323
Email: Johan.vanderMerwe@westerncape.gov.za

Overberg

Suzaan Braaf
Tel: 028 214 7411
Email: Suzanne.Braaf@westerncape.gov.za

Natashia Rhoode
Tel: 028 214 7382
Email: Natashia.Rhoode@westerncape.gov.za

Molene Jantjies
Tel: 028 214 7383
Email: Molene.Jantjies@westerncape.gov.za

West Coast

Tessa Jacobs
Tel: 021 860 1598
Email: Tessa.Jacobs@westerncape.gov.za   

Nomhle Gxowa
Tel: 021 860 1200
Email: Nomhle.Gxowa@westerncape.gov.za

 

For more information on late admissions and the admission process, have a look at the Frequently Asked Questions - Learner Enrolments.

Track your application

The Western Cape Education Department introduced a new online function to assist parents with tracking their school applications

If you still haven’t received a response from the school where you applied, visit the WCED School Admissions website or send an e-mail to wced.admissions@westerncape.gov.za

The content on this page was last updated on 11 January 2021