Minister Anroux Marais celebrates sporting excellence at Provincial Sport Awards | Western Cape Government


Minister Anroux Marais celebrates sporting excellence at Provincial Sport Awards

6 March 2022

Yesterday, 5 March 2022, the Department of Cultural Affairs and Sport (DCAS) once again hosted the annual Provincial Sport Awards to honour the achievements of the Western Cape’s athletes and technical teams.

The awards were preceded by six regional events that took place between November 2021 and January 2022, where the winners for all categories were announced in the Overberg, West Coast, Cape Winelands, Cape Town, Central Karoo and Eden regions. These winners then become nominees for the Provincial Awards.

Head of Department, Mr. Guy Redman emphasized that DCAS wants to keep supporting those in sport to achieve the bigger goals: “Our vision has its foundations on Social Cohesion, which includes values and principles which aim to ensure that all residents of the Western Cape, without discrimination and on an equal footing, have access to fundamental social and economic rights. It is the just cause which we are working to advance that gives our work and lives meaning. This includes all the volunteers who are involved in the sport structures. This just cause inspires us to want to keep playing.”

Minister Anroux Marais highlighted the crucial role that sport plays in mental and physical wellbeing: “Engagement with cultural affairs and sport creates a positive atmosphere, empowering individuals to make healthier choices by becoming more inspired, involved, questioning and willing to take risks. Results suggest that sport and recreation participation contribute to personal development and perceptions of wellbeing which, in turn, builds essential capacity and motivation for change and it is the change we all desire that should become our mutual objective as a collective.” she said. Minister Marais congratulated all the nominees and thanked them for their contribution to sport in the province and the country.

Tour de France cyclist, Nicholas Dlamini, received a Ministerial Commendation from Minister Marais for his achievements in the sport. Other winners included Anrune Weyers (Sportswoman with a disability), Mpumelelo Mhlongo (Sportsman with a disability),  Bianca Buitendag (Sportswoman of the Year) and Pieter Truter (Sportsman of the Year). A full list of the evening’s winners can be found here

More information on the nominees can be found here

Photographs are available on request.

Media Enquiries: 

Stacy McLean
Spokesperson for the Minister of Cultural Affairs and Sport, Anroux Marais
083 504 1171