New Western Cape Cultural Commission welcomed by Minister Marais | Western Cape Government


New Western Cape Cultural Commission welcomed by Minister Marais

16 November 2018

On Thursday, 15 November 2018, the newly appointed Western Cape Cultural Commission (WCCC) members were welcomed to office by Western Cape Minister of Cultural Affairs and Sport, Anroux Marais.

The WCCC, a public entity founded in 1999, is tasked with preserving, promoting and developing culture in the province. Minister Marais said she expected the Commission to “effectively contribute to the growth and development of a dynamic cultural environment in a unified Western Cape”.

“A multicultural and truly democratic community not only respects cultural diversity, but also creates the enabling climate for the effective preservation, promotion and extension of culture. The newly appointed Cultural Commission will significantly facilitate the creation of effective and vibrant functioning arts and culture structures, activities and environments,” Minister Marais added.

The committee members were nominated and voted into their posts based on their expertise in business studies, marketing and management practices, as well as their knowledge and understanding of cultural diversity, cultural history, social anthropology, performing arts and languages; and ability to formulate and develop policy.

They will serve a three-year term, concluding in 2021. One of the most notable names on the new commission is Vicky Sampson, famous South African singer and entrepreneur.

“Remember, the beauty of the Western Cape lies in the diversity of its people and we have been mandated to promote social inclusion through cultural affairs. I hereby officially welcome you as members of the Western Cape Cultural Commission and trust that your passion will drive purpose while your purpose drives passion,” Minister Marais concluded.

The WCCC members are: PM Baard, HJ Benjamin, C Fani, ZP Fefeza, Z Jama, PL Joko, JJ Joubert, JC Witbooi, HM Loubser, LG Nokwaza, NJ Nongalaza, M Rall, E Ryke, VE Sampson.


Media Enquiries: 

Dr Tania Colyn
Head of Communication Service
Department of Cultural Affairs and Sport
Tel: 021 483 9877 / 076 093 4913