Provincial Sport Awards Celebrate Achievements For The Past Year | Western Cape Government

22Covid-19 Alerts

COVID-19 Vaccine Information and Dashboard

View Vaccine information

TB Information and Dashboard

View TB information


Provincial Sport Awards Celebrate Achievements For The Past Year

27 August 2018

On Saturday, 25 August 2018, the Department of Cultural Affairs and Sport (DCAS) hosted the annual Provincial Sport Awards at Old Mutual in Pinelands. The awards honoured the achievements of the winners of the regional awards ceremonies and crowned the provincial winners in each category.

Brent Walters, Head of Department at DCAS, welcomed the guests to the awards. He emphasised the important role of all the nominees present in their communities. “Nothing is achieved without hard work and struggle. Our nation depends on people like you to show young people how to make good choices. You are examples of the rewards that are reaped from training and repetition. The role models we need to hold up in society are all those present tonight.” he said.

Minister Anroux Marais spoke about the importance of sport in the communities across the Western Cape. “There is a need to participate and excel in sport in our communities. Sport plays an important role in empowerment and upliftment across the Western Cape. As Nelson Mandela said: ‘Sport has the power to change the world.’” she said.

Master of Ceremonies Jeremy Harris announced the winners across the different categories and the guests were entertained by local singing sensations Craig Lucas and Paxton Fielies.

Some of the big winners of the night were the Western Province Women’s Cricket Team (Team of the Year), Elma Davis (Sportswoman of the Year) and Chad le Clos (Sportsman of the Year). Tennis player Raven Klaasen and the Springbok Sevens Team received Ministerial Commendations from Minister Marais. The winners from this awards ceremony will now be nominated to compete at the National Sport Awards which take place later this year.

More information on the nominees can be found here and a full list of the evening’s winners can be seen here. Please click here for the keynote address by Minister Anroux Marais.

Media Enquiries: 

Dr Tania Colyn
Head of Communication Service
Department of Cultural Affairs and Sport
Tel: 021 483 9877 / 076 093 4913