Overberg Sport Awards Celebrate Excellence | Western Cape Government


Overberg Sport Awards Celebrate Excellence

30 July 2018

On Saturday, 28 July 2018, athletes from the Overberg district were rewarded for their hard work over the past year at the Overberg Regional Sport Awards. The awards, hosted by the Department of Cultural Affairs and Sport (DCAS), the Overberg Sports Council and the Theewaterskloof Municipality, celebrated the sporting achievements of the region over the past year.

 Councillor Archie Klaas, Deputy Executive Mayor for the Overberg District Municipality, welcomed guests to the event. He mentioned that, even though the region faced certain challenges, athletes were still performing well. “We are excited about future opportunities within sport. We must nurture and support the raw talent we have in our region.” he said.

 DCAS Chief Director for Sport and Recreation, Dr Lyndon Bouah, encouraged the athletes to remember former President Nelson Mandela’s legacy and belief in the power of sport to bring communities together. “Above, all, remember what the values of Olympism are and always strive for excellence.” he said.

JP Naude, President of the Western Cape Provincial Sport Confederation, reminded the audience that sport makes an important contribution to society. “When you coach athletes or play sport, you are contributing. You are part of the solution.” he said.

 The evening ended with the announcement of Overberg Jukskei as Team of the Year, Overberg Lawn Bowls as Federation of the Year, Anneke Snyman as Sportswoman of the Year and Ruehan van Romburgh as Sportsman of the Year. Alll the winners from the regional sport awards will be nominees at the Provincial Sport Awards which will be held on 25 August 2018.

Media Enquiries: 

Dr Tania Colyn
Head of Communication Service
Department of Cultural Affairs and Sport
Tel: 021 483 9877 / 076 093 4913
​E-mail: Tania.Colyn@westerncape.gov.za