Minister Marais wishes players well ahead of Hockey World Championship | Western Cape Government


Minister Marais wishes players well ahead of Hockey World Championship

12 April 2018


Earlier today, 12 April 2018, Minister Anroux Marais officially congratulated the Western Cape players who were selected to represent South Africa at the 2018 IIHF Ice Hockey World Championship Division III

The fast-paced World Championship will take place at Grand West Ice Station from 16 – 22 April 2018. The six participating countries include Turkey, Bulgaria, Georgia, Hong Kong, South Africa and the Chinese Taipei.

The Western Cape players make up close to 40% of Team SA participating at the 2018 World Championship. There are 7 Western Cape players in the 18 player-strong national team.

These players are:

  • Uthmaan Samaai: Forward
  • Dean Magmoed: Defense
  • Marc Giot: Forward
  • Jean-Michel Van Doesburgh: Forward
  • Keenen Gordon: Defense
  • Luke Carelse: Forward
  • Alex Obery: Forward

During the meet and greet engagement, Minister Marais said, “The players hailing from the Western Cape have always done us proud at the Championships and there is no doubt in my mind that they will do so again this year as Team SA is well prepared to compete against the world. With the Commonwealth Games currently underway, we have seen that when athletes don our green and gold on the world stage, the whole country is united in support of our national team and a renewed sense of being proudly South African is ignited”. 

Minister Marais encourages all to get behind our boys and support Team SA during the Championship while hosted on our very own home soil. Tickets are available at Computicket, with further information detailed on the attached poster.

Team SA’s player profiles are available online for ease of reference.

Players on the photograph are From left: Head Coach: Johan Sundin; Forward: Uthmaan Samaai; General Manager: Ben Denysschen; Minister Anroux Marais; Defense: Dion Phakathi and Forward: Andre Marais.   

Media Enquiries: 

Stacy McLean
Spokesperson for Minister Anroux Marais
Tel: 021 483 4426
Cell: 083 504 117