Minister Meyer Appoints New Western Cape Cultural Commission | Western Cape Government


Minister Meyer Appoints New Western Cape Cultural Commission

6 June 2012

On 7 June, Western Cape Minister of Cultural Affairs and Sport, Dr Ivan Meyer, announced the newly formed Western Cape Cultural Commission (WCCC) at a media briefing.

The newly appointed members are Willa Boezak, Lizo Dani, Johannes du Plessis, Jacque du Preez, Anthony le Fleur, Janene Mostert, Wandisile Ngeyi, Myer Mervin Smith, Sibongile Somdaka, Marianne Thamm, Riaan Visman, Linda Marques Wilson and John Witbooi.

The Cultural Commission is established in terms of the Western Cape Cultural Commission and Cultural Councils Act, Act 14 of 1998. The role of the commission is to advise the minister in the preservation, promotion and development of arts and culture in the province.

Speaking at the announcement, Minister Meyer tasked the WCCC to advise him on how the Western Cape should go about creating cultural warmth. "Recent events in our country has highlighted the need for us to work much harder at building social inclusion and bringing down the barriers that keep us apart. We need cultural warmth. The kind that former President Nelson Mandela exuded whenever he came into contact with others," said Minister Meyer.

Minister Meyer also announced the appointment of Myer Mervin Smith as Chairperson and Willa Boezak as Deputy Chairperson of the WCCC. Smith is a former President of the Cape Law Society and is the current Chairperson of the Board of Trustees of the SA Holocaust and Genocide Centre in Cape Town while Boezak serves as a commissioner on the Commission for the Rights of Cultural, Religious and Linguistic Communities.

Media Enquiries: 

Daniel Johnson
Tel: 021 483 3261
Fax: 021 483 9801
Cell: 079 990 4231