Congratulations to the Province’s South African Sport Award Winners | Western Cape Government


Congratulations to the Province’s South African Sport Award Winners

1 December 2014

It is with great pride that we congratulate Ernst van Dyk, Gezelle Magermann and the Oudtshoorn School of Skills for their respective wins at the South African Sport Awards last night.

Paracyclist, Ernst van Dyk, was named Sportsman of the Year with a Disability while the Gold medallist, Gezelle Magermann, was awarded the Newcomer of the Year award. The Oudtshoorn School of Skills has done the Western Cape proud by being named Developing School Team of the Year.

Our province has done exceptionally well by winning an unprecedented three awards at this ceremony. This performance is indicative of the calibre of athletes and sport schools we have in our province.

Our resolve has been renewed. The Department of Cultural Affairs and Sport will continue to work diligently to promote sporting excellence and development in our province.

The crucial role that sport plays in our communities is undeniable. It is through the different sport codes that thousands of young people are kept occupied, healthy and away from harmful behaviours daily in our province.

Exceptional milestones like this one mean that young people have local sporting role models to look up to.

The Western Cape Government congratulates Ernst, Gezelle and the Oudtshoorn School of Skills.

Media Enquiries: 

Siviwe Gwarube
Spokesperson for Minister Mbombo
Tel: 021 483 9679