Congratulations to our National Teaching Award winners! | Western Cape Government



Congratulations to our National Teaching Award winners!

20 October 2022

The National Teaching Awards took place in Gauteng this morning, and I am so pleased to announce that six of our provincial nominees placed in the top three nationally, with FOUR having WON their categories!

  • Excellence in Teaching Natural Sciences: Ms Luize Kroukamp, Paul Roos Gymnasium, Stellenbosch – WINNER
  • Excellence in Teaching Physical Sciences: Ms Marieke Pretorius, Apex High School, Eerste River – WINNER
  • Excellence in Special Needs Leadership: Ms Yolanda Lupondo, Siviwe School of Skills, Gugulethu – WINNER
  • Kader Asmal Lifetime Achievement Award: Mr Ridwan Samodien, Kannemeyer Primary School, Grassy Park – WINNER
  • Excellence in Grade R Teaching: Ms Jamie-Lee Titus, Sunningdale Primary School, Sunningdale, Blouberg – SECOND PLACE
  • Excellence in Primary School Teaching: Ms Charnelle Hector, Belmor Primary School, Hanover Park – SECOND PLACE

This is a wonderful recognition of the work that they are doing in our schools, and I congratulate each of them on this outstanding achievement. We are so proud of you!

All teachers, governing bodies and district officials were invited to submit nominations, based on the criteria contained in the Nomination and Information Guide. Our provincial awards ceremony was held on 9 September, and our provincial winners became our nominees for the national awards. They have all made us extremely proud, whether they won in their category or not.

At our provincial ceremony, I said that the one thing that the pandemic taught us is that schools matter, and that teachers matter. Our teachers are the backbone of society, and our department’s most valuable asset.

I thank all of our teachers across the province, for their innovation, dedication, integrity, commitment, courage, caring, and most importantly, the deep love that they have for the children of the Western Cape. 

Media Enquiries: 

Kerry Mauchline
Spokesperson to Minister David Maynier
Western Cape Ministry of Education