Heritage Western Cape declares five new Provincial Heritage sites | Western Cape Government



Heritage Western Cape declares five new Provincial Heritage sites

29 September 2020

As we reach the end of Heritage Month in South Africa, the Heritage Western Cape Council has approved the classification of five sites in the province as Provincial Heritage Sites (PHS).

The 5 newly declared Provincial Heritage Sites are:

  • The Blaauwberg Nature Reserve, Blaauwberg
  • The Freedom Square in Bonteheuwel, Cape Town
  • The Gugulethu 7 Memorial in Gugulethu, Cape Town
  • The Langa Pass Office in Langa, Cape Town
  • Princess Vlei in Retreat, Cape Town

All these sites have special qualities which make them significant within the Western Cape Province. These sites connect closely to events and figures of provincial significance and enrich the understanding of the cultural, historical and social development of the Western Cape, and indeed South Africa.

Once a site is declared a Provincial Heritage Site, it enjoys the highest level of protection in terms of the National Heritage Resources Act 25 of 1999.

Anroux Marais, Western Cape Minister of Cultural Affairs and Sport, emphasized the importance of protecting sites that hold cultural and historical significance: “These sites have a rich history to the province but also to the communities in which they are situated. In many instances, the sites hold narratives highlighting the resilient spirit of the people of our country. It is of utmost importance that we continue to protect these sites and that communities look after the sites to preserve them for generations to come.”

Plaques or notice boards indicating the PHS status will be unveiled at the various sites in due course.

While Heritage Month has come to an end, we encourage everyone to always celebrate and protect the sites, stories and people that carry the narratives of the past in order for us to continue building a safe future for all.

Media Enquiries: 

Tania Colyn
Head of Communications
076 093 4913