Inspired by our youth | Western Cape Government



Inspired by our youth

12 May 2018

Developing the youth by providing opportunities through quality education and skills development, the Western Cape Provincial Treasury and the Education Department has partnered with the provinces’ official banking partner, Nedbank to offer bursaries to 15 students. 

The Nedbank Essay Bursary Competition for Grade 11 students started in 2008 and has since inception provided bursaries worth just over R8.5 million. Any Western Cape Grade 11 learner who plans to pursue a career in maths, economics and accounting may enter this competition.   

The competition is part of the Grade 11 curriculum for the 10 000 learners studying economics and accounting. From all these essays, 52 were selected as final entries into the competition of which 26 learners were shortlisted. From the shortlisted learners, 15 learners each won a study bursary to pursue a three-year degree/diploma.

“The bursary competition aims to promote enthusiasm for Economics, Mathematics, Accounting and career possibilities; develop knowledge and skills in Economics, Mathematics and Accounting;  develop problem-solving and analytical abilities; expose learners to research methodology and essay-writing skills; provide learners with access and links to the world of work; raise awareness of socio-economic issues in SA; encourage and reward excellence; and develop future leaders in the fields of Economics, Mathematics and Accounting. More importantly it is about creating opportunities for our youth to develop the skill set that will sharpen their ability to respond effectively to the demands of the Fourth Industrial Revolution” said Western Cape Minister of Finance, Dr Ivan Meyer.

The first place winner, Chris Malherbe hails from Paul Roos Gymnasium. Marissa Faku from Fezekile Secondary School was the second place winner while Debora Bukasa from Malibu High School, was the third place winner.

Besides the bursary as a prize, there are also cash prizes with the first place winner receiving R10 000, the second place winner, R8 000 and the third place winner R6 000.

“I am inspired by these young people they are not only creative but also critical thinkers. Future economists, accountants, auditors and financial analysts will be competing in an environment dominated by artificial intelligence, block chain, the internet of things, drones, driverless vehicles, precision medicine and robotics. The differentiator is going to be that distinctly human skills, such as creativity and critical thinking, are predicted to become core capabilities. Finalists and bursary winners displayed empathy, emotional intelligence, communication, collaboration, critical thinking, and creativity. They are well on their way to acquiring the skill base that is a critical skill within the context of the Fourth Industrial Revolution” said Meyer.

“We’ve reached a milestone in celebrating our 10th annual Essay writing competition, in partnership with Nedbank” said Zakariya Hoosain, Head Official at the Provincial Treasury.

“Through this programme we’ve been able to make a real difference in the lives of 114 learners since it's inception, as well as acknowledge the best performing schools in Accounting, Economics and Mathematics. Congratulations to the 15 winners of 2018, as well as the educators who continue to support the learners, and who encourage them to be their best” said Hoosain.

The 2018 list of bursary winners:






Chris Malherbe


Paul Roos Gymnasium


Marissa Faku


Fezekile Secondary School


Debora Bukasa


Malibu High School


Kekeletso Nobula


New Orleans Secondary School


Danielle Louw


Bloemhof Girls High School


Chloé Solomons


Paarl Girls High School


Amiliselwe Boto


Fezekile Secondary School


Monalisa Nokhemane


Rhodes High School


Ruth Nyongwana


Masibambane High School


Marc van der Merwe


Outeniqua High School


Simone Truter


New Orleans Secondary School


Dihan Goussard


Outeniqua High School


Phumelele Mnqini


Thembalethu High School


Todd Lewis


Paarl Boys High School


Reinard Reitsma


Hugenote High School

Media Enquiries: 

Daniel Johnson
Media Liaison Officer/Spokesperson to Dr Ivan Meyer Minister of Finance
Cell: 079 990 4231