Building a better tomorrow for our youth | Western Cape Government


Building a better tomorrow for our youth

25 March 2017

With a key emphasis on quality education and skills development, the Western Cape Provincial Treasury and the Education Department has partnered with the provinces’ official banking partner, Nedbank to offer bursaries to 15 students. 

The Nedbank Essay Bursary Competition for Grade 11 students started in 2008 and has since inception provided bursaries worth nearly R3.4 million. Any Western Cape Grade 11 learner who plans to pursue a career in maths, economics and accounting may enter this competition.   

The competition is part of the Grade 11 curriculum for the 10 000 learners studying economics and accounting. From all these essays, 52 were selected as final entries into the competition of which 26 learners were shortlisted. From the shortlisted learners, 15 learners each won a study bursary to pursue a three year degree/diploma in the fields of economics, finance, mathematics, accountancy and/or commerce, at one of the Universities in the Western Cape.

“The Western Cape Government’s priority is to build a better tomorrow for our youth. The Western Cape Government’s rescue mission focuses on skills for jobs and economic growth that creates jobs. As announced in my Budget Address the Province will allocate R193.3 million over the 2017 MTEF for skills development and innovation.  The bursaries we are awarding tonight is our tangible commitment to ensuring that talented young men and women will be supported, developed and groomed to take up key positions within the public sector finance environment” said Western Cape Minister of Finance Dr Ivan Meyer.

“One of the biggest challenges we face is that fewer and fewer learners in our schools are choosing important subjects such as Maths, Accounting, and Economics as we have a real shortage of learners leaving school with a quality NSC qualification especially in these subjects. We must align our education with the skills gaps that exist” said Ms Debbie Schäfer, Minister of Education.

“The Nedbank Essay Bursary Competition is about honouring some of our country's finest minds and seeing how the gift of words scribe South Africa's socio economic future. As an economic enabler, Nedbank is honoured, humbled and encouraged by the passion we have seen from these upcoming business leaders. At the core of Nedbank's existence is our commitment to the communities and environment we serve and as such our involvement in this initiative, partnering with the youth on their journey to realise their dreams, continues to demonstrate this commitment” said Mr Andre Geldenhuys, Divisional Executive: Client Coverage at Nedbank.

The first place winner, Juané Cronje hails from DF Malan High School. Loumari Müller from Point High School was the second place winner while Masande Jack from Masibambane High School, was the third place winner.

Besides the bursary as a prize, there is also cash prizes with the first place winner receiving R10 000, the second place winner, R8 000 and the third place winner R6 500. The rest of the top 15 winners each received R2 500.


The 2017 list of bursary winners:






Juané Cronje


DF Malan High School


Loumari Müller


Point High School


Masande Jack


Masibambane Secondary School


Cassidy-Ray Pedro


George High School


Daniëlle Geldenhuys


Tygerberg High School


Jana-Mari Wolfaardt


Bloemhof Girls High School


Jean-Tiaan Cronje


Paul Roos Gymnasium


Kelly-Ann de Koker


George High School


Lisa Lucas


Brackenfell High School


Naydene Fielies


Gerrit du Plessis Secondary School


Paul Müller


Rondebosch Boys High School


Romy Bogner


Parklands College


Runecia Smit


Beaufort West High Secondary School


Siyabonga James


Imizamo Yethu Secondary School


Siyasanga James


Imizamo Yethu Secondary School

Media Enquiries: 

Daniel Johnson
Media Liaison Officer/Spokesperson to Dr Ivan Meyer Minister of Finance
Cell: 079 990 4231