Minister Schafer calls for nominations for Teaching Awards – deadline 23 August | Western Cape Government


Minister Schafer calls for nominations for Teaching Awards – deadline 23 August

12 August 2019

The Annual Teaching Awards recognize excellence and professionalism and provide the education fraternity with the opportunity to celebrate the achievements of outstanding teachers. I am therefore calling for nominations for all deserving teachers who go above and beyond the call of duty to ensure that they provide the best quality education to the learners in our province. 

This year, we are proud to present and host the 20th annual provincial awards ceremony, a preliminary event before the 20th annual NTAs ceremony.

Often our teachers are not recognized for the important roles they play in our schools, despite the fact that these days, being a teacher requires much more than delivering a quality curriculum for our learners. Many of our teachers have to face on-going challenges such as poverty, gang violence, abuse and crime.  

Despite these challenges, many of our educators in the Western Cape continue to go selflessly beyond the call of duty to ensure that their learners receive the best quality education.  

Being acknowledged for their service and dedication is a significant reward that they can receive, especially from their learners and school communities. 

I therefore call on learners and teachers to submit names to the school nomination teams of teachers and principals who are outstanding examples of educators and who are making a massive difference in our schools and communities. 

All teachers, governing bodies and district officials are invited to submit nominations, based on the criteria contained in the Nomination and Information Guide.

Deserving teachers may be nominated in the following categories:

  • Excellence in Grade R Teaching
  • Excellence in Primary School Teaching (Grades 1–7)
  • Excellence in Secondary School Teaching (Grades 8–12)
  • Excellence in Primary School Leadership
  • Excellence in Secondary School Leadership
  • Excellence in Special Needs Teaching
  • Excellence in Technology – Enhanced Teaching and Learning
  • Excellence in Teaching Mathematics (GET)
  • Excellence in Teaching Natural Sciences (GET)
  • Lifetime Achievement Award

Cluster and provincial runners-up and winners will each receive Information and Communication Technology (ICT) vouchers of different values to be redeemed at a reputable ICT service provider.

All provincial winners will also be awarded a laptop.

In addition, winning schools will each receive a cash award of R5 000 (cluster) and R7 500 (provincial) per school per finalist, to be used for the professional development of the teaching staff to improve classroom practice.

An electronic version of the Nomination and Information Guide, containing the nomination forms and qualifying criteria, is available on the following web page:

The deadline for nominations is the 23rd August 2019.

Media Enquiries: 

Jessica Shelver
Tel: 021 483 6570
Cell: 076 175 0663