Minister Marais congratulates Western Cape participants ahead of Tokyo Olympics | Western Cape Government


Minister Marais congratulates Western Cape participants ahead of Tokyo Olympics

15 July 2021

Following SASCOC’s official announcements, Western Cape Minister of Cultural Affairs and Sport, Anroux Marais, congratulates the participants from the Western Cape who were selected to represent South Africa at the 2020 Summer Olympic Games in Tokyo later this month.

Minister Marais said, “The Olympic participants hailing from the Western Cape have always done us proud at the Games. There is no doubt in my mind that they are well prepared to safely compete against the rest of the world and bring the gold back home. Despite the many challenges they face, their will to excel has afforded them the golden opportunity to represent our country at the world’s most esteemed sporting event.

We congratulate each participant with great gratitude for the influential role they have and will continue to play in representing our province and communities with much pride. We wholeheartedly thank them for their exceptional work done in service of the people of the Western Cape, bringing into fruition innovative solutions to unprecedented circumstances in the sporting sector. We extend our appreciation for inspiring the much-needed hope and being the beacons of light amidst the most trying times experienced in South Africa and the world over. The journey of a thousand miles starts with a single step and we have a long way to go, but together, we can redress the challenges our communities are plagued with through sport, especially during these uncertain times. An individual’s circumstances can indeed be improved through participation, developing and excelling in their preferred sporting codes and it is not only the individual’s circumstances changed, but that of their families, their communities, province and country as a whole”.

The Olympic participants from the Western Cape who will represent Team SA at the 2020 Olympic Games are:




Antonio Alkana


Rocco van Rooyen


Elroy Gelant


Wenda Nel


Dominque Scott


Wayde van Niekerk


Ruswahl Samaai




Richard Murray




Ashleigh Pasia-Moolman


Carl Pasio (Coach)


Stefan De Bod


Nicholas Dlamini


Candice Lill


Alan Hartherly


Moosa Classen (Management)


Jean Pierre Jacobs (Management)


Elton Davids (Coach & Management)


Ian Goetham (Coach & Management)



Womens Hockey

Quanita Bobbs


Tarryn Glasby



Mens Hockey

Mustaphaa Cassiem


Abdud Cassiem


Austin Smith


Keenan Horne


Ashlin Freddy ( Coach & Management)




Asenathi Jim (Coach & Management)


Leo Davis


Victor Davis


Alex Burger


Benjamin Daniel




Luke Fleurs



Women's Water Polo

Candice Williams (Coach)


Amica Hallendorff


Hannah Calvert


Georgie Moir


Duncan Woods (Manager)



Men's Water Polo

Devon Card


Cameron Laurenson


Lwazi Madi


Farouk Mayman


Ross Stone


Vaughan Marlow(Manager)




Michelle Weber


Cedric Finch (coach)


Micheal Houlie


Rebeeca Meder


Chad Le Clos


Ethan du Preez


Chanelle Van Wyk (coach)


Aimee Canny



7's Rugby

Sakoyisa Makata


Zain Davids


Angelo Davids


Justin Geduld


Kurt-Lee Arendse


Stedman Gans


Ruhan Nel


Chris Dry


Renfred Dazel (Coach)


Ghafoer Lucken (Coach)




Melissa Williams



Table Tennis

Genevieve Lentz (Official)




Dr Patho Zondi (CMO)


Hugh Everson


Dr Craig Thompson


Media Enquiries: 

Stacy McLean
Spokesperson for the Minister of Cultural Affairs and Sport, Anroux Marais
083 504 1171