Minister Schäfer celebrates the provincial winners of the NTA | Western Cape Government


Minister Schäfer celebrates the provincial winners of the NTA

3 September 2021

This evening I was joined by the Premier of the Western Cape, Alan Winde, as the WCED announced the provincial winners of the 2021 National Teaching Awards. They will go on to represent us in the national competition next month.

All teachers, governing bodies and district officials were invited to submit nominations of teachers at registered public sector schools. These awards give us the opportunity to celebrate the outstanding work of our teachers during the past year – one that has been made especially difficult by the Covid-19 pandemic. The provincial winners this year have demonstrated their dedication to the education of our children in the toughest of times, setting aside their own fears to make sure our learners could keep learning.

The 2021 provincial winners are:

  • Excellence in Grade R Teaching: Ms Cecilia de Vries, Langebaanweg Primary School, Langebaan
  • Excellence in Special Needs Teaching: Mr Jevonn Cloete, Rusthof LSEN School, Rusthof, Strand
  • Excellence in Teaching Mathematics (FET): Ms Ruth Thembela Maliwe, Manyano High School, Khayelitsha
  • Excellence in Teaching Physical Sciences (FET): Ms Danielle van Eck, Protea Heights Academy, Brackenfell
  • Excellence in Primary School Teaching: Ms Ashleigh Taljaard, Van Rheede Primary School, Oudtshoorn
  • Excellence in Secondary School Teaching: Ms Mariechen Vermeulen, La Rochelle Girls High School, Paarl
  • Excellence in Technology–Enhanced, Teaching and Learning Award: Ms Nikki Potgieter, La Rochelle Girls’ Primary School, Paarl
  • Excellence in Primary School Leadership: Ms Anthea Williams, Dorothea School, Stellenbosch
  • Excellence in Secondary School Leadership: Ms Renate van der Westhuizen, Apex High School, Blue Downs, Eerste River
  • S/Hero Award (new category): Mr Chadley Davids, Protea Heights Academy, Brackenfell
  • Best Teacher Award (new category): Dr Mariette Wheeler, Protea Heights Academy, Brackenfell
  • Lifetime Achievement Award: Mr Ivan Kroneberg, Hillcrest Secondary School, Mossel Bay
  • Kader Asmal Excellence Award: Mr Adnaan Adams, Modderdam High School, Bonteheuwel

Congratulations to every one of you, and to our runners-up. We are proud of you, and of all the teachers of the Western Cape who have worked so hard this year to support our learners in very difficult conditions.

In addition, a companion award – the National Learner Award – has been added to the National Teaching Awards. Our provincial winner is Mr Alessio Marcus, Beacon Hill High School, Beacon Hill, Mitchells Plain.

I am pleased that the Premier was able to celebrate the winners with us, recognising the importance of the education sector in our province and showing his support for the incredible work that our teachers do on a daily basis.

Premier Winde said: “Teachers are the bedrock of our education system which is why it is so important for us to acknowledge and celebrate teaching excellence. Our teachers have had to work under very difficult circumstances amid the new-normal to ensure that no child is left behind in achieving their educational milestones. We have heard the wonderful stories of teachers using TikTok, delivering teaching resources in person, and generally finding innovative ways to educate learners amid the pandemic. Thank you to each teacher in the Western Cape for going above and beyond throughout this difficult time, and of course, a special congratulations to tonight’s winners.”

Media Enquiries: 

Kerry Mauchline
Spokesperson to Minister Debbie Schäfer
Western Cape Ministry of Education