Fifty Schools to Receive Building Upgrades | Western Cape Government

22Covid-19 Alerts

COVID-19 Vaccine Information and Dashboard

View Vaccine information

TB Information and Dashboard

View TB information


Fifty Schools to Receive Building Upgrades

6 June 2013

In September 2012, I announced details of the Western Cape Education Department's new infrastructure plan for the 2013/14 -2015/16 period.

The plan includes, amongst other things, the building of 46 replacement schools and the roll-out of four replacement classroom projects within a three year period. (Please note that a further 26 new schools will also be built under this plan.)

Today, I am announcing the names of the 50 schools that will be upgraded through the school replacement programme.

Using our Geographic Information System (GIS) and information obtained from the Districts, we were able to ascertain which school buildings were in dire need of replacement.

Replacing a school essentially means replacing with new brick and mortar structures old school buildings originally built with inappropriate materials.

In most instances, the old structures are made from wooden or prefabricated materials and were generally built during the apartheid era.

Replacing inappropriate structures requires building a new school on the existing school property. In some projects, the new structure is built adjacent to the old structure so that the learners may continue to use the premises of the old school while the building of the new structure is underway.

In other instances, the provision of alternative accommodation (such as mobile units) is required for learners during the building process. The old inappropriate structures are torn down to make way for the new building. 

Each replacement school will typically include all modern day school features such as a media centre/library, laboratories, feeding kitchens, computer facilities and workshops where necessary.

It is an exciting initiative that will ultimately benefit approximately 50 000 learners who will be able to learn in environments that are safer, bigger and more conducive to quality teaching and learning.

The distribution of replacement schools in each district that will benefit from this plan is as follows:

DistrictNumber of Replacement Schools
Cape Winelands2
Eden and Central Karoo5
West Coast5
Metro Central9
Metro East4
Metro North10
Metro South6

There are also four replacement classroom projects that will be implemented during the three year period. These projects entail the replacement of certain sections of schools that are deemed inappropriate or potentially unsafe.

The classroom projects are situated in the following four districts:

DistrictNumber of Replacement Classroom Projects
Metro North2
Metro Central1
Cape Winelands1

The replacement schools and replacement classroom projects will be funded partly through the WCED's infrastructure budget and partly through the Accelerated School Infrastructure Development Initiative (ASIDI) programme.

The 46 replacement schools are as follows:

NumberSchool NameDistrictArea
1ACJ Phakade PSMetro EastStrand
2Bottelary PSMetro SouthBrackenfell
3Bonnievale PSCape WinelandsBonnievale
4Buck Road HSMetro SouthLotus River
5Chatsworth PSWest CoastSwartland
6Delft South PSMetro NorthDelft
7Delta PSMetro SouthSteenberg
8Diaz PSEden/KarooMosselbay
9Die Duine PSMetro SouthLotus River
10Du Noon PSMetro NorthMilnerton
11Formosa PSEden/KarooPlettenberg Bay
12Umyezo Wama Apile PSOverbergTheewaterskloof
13Hawston PSOverbergHawston
14Hazendal PSMetro CentralAthlone
15Heideveld PSMetro CentralHeideveld
16Itsitsa PSMetro NorthMfuleni
17Kasselsvlei PSMetro NorthBellville
18Kathleen Murray PSOverbergTheewaterskloof
19Kensington SecMetro CentralKensington
20Klipheuwel PSMetro NorthKlipheuwel
21Knysna SecEden/KarooHornlee
22Kuilsrivier PSMetro EastKuilsrivier
23Mount View SecMetro CentralHanover Park
24Pacaltsdorp PSEden/KarooPacaltsdorp
25Parkview PSMetro NorthReygersdal
26Pineview PSOverbergGrabouw
27Portia PSMetro CentralLansdowne
28Red River PSMetro CentralManenberg
29Rheenendal PSEden/KarooKnysna
30Rosewood PSMetro CentralBonteheuwel
31Rusthof PSMetro EastStrand
32Scottsdene SecMetro EastKraaifontein
33Silverstream PSMetro CentralManenberg
34Sophakama PSMetro NorthTable View
35Sophumelela SecMetro SouthSamora Machel
36St Thomas PSWest CoastMalmesbury
37Steynville PSWest CoastBergrivier
38Swartberg SecOverbergCaledon
39Tygersig PSMetro NorthUitsig
40Valhalla PSMetro NorthElsiesrivier
41Voorspoed PSMetro CentralKenwyn
42Vooruitsig PSWest CoastDarling
43Wes-Eind PSCape WinelandsFranschhoek
44Wesfleur PSMetro NorthDassenberg
45Willemsvallei PSWest CoastPorterville
46Zeekoevlei PSMetro SouthLotus River

The four replacement classroom projects are situated in the following areas:

NumberSchool NameDistrictArea
1Bloekombos PSMetro NorthKraaifontein
2Garden Village PSMetro CentralMaitland
3Nalikamva PSMetro NorthMfuleni
4Waveren SSCape WinelandsTulbagh


Media Enquiries: 

Bronagh Casey
Spokesperson for Minister Grant
Tel: 021 467 2377
Cell: 072 7241422
Fax: 021 425 3616