Last Chance to Register | Western Cape Government


Last Chance to Register

3 February 2014

Are you registered to vote in the 2014 national and provincial elections? If not, it’s time to join the millions of South Africans registering at one of 22 263 voting stations around the country.

According to the Independent Electoral Commission, just over 24 million South Africans have already registered to vote for elections 2014, surpassing the 2009 figure of 23 181 997.

This weekend, on 8 and 9 February, the Electoral Commission (IEC) will host its final national registration drive from 08:00 to 17:00 for new voters to register and for existing voters to check or update their details.

The voters' roll contains the details of individual voters and serves as an important planning tool. For example, it allows the IEC to know how many people are likely to vote in each area and helps prevent electoral fraud.                 

If you’ve already registered and moved to a different area, you will be required to register in your new voting district.

Visit the IEC website to check your voter registration details.             

You are Eligible to Register to Vote if you are:

  • A South African citizen
  • At least 16 years old (you can only vote from age 18) and
  • In possession of a green bar-coded ID book, ID smartcard or temporary identity certificate.

Not Sure if you are Registered or if you Have to Re-register? Check your Registration Status by:

  • Sending an SMS with your ID number to 32810 (SMS costs R1)
  • Call the IEC call centre on 0800 11 8000 (toll-free from a Telkom landline)
  • Visiting the Voting Station Finder app

Have you lost your Identity Document? You can apply for a temporary Identity Certificate in the interim.

Don’t forget your South African green bar-coded ID, Smartcard ID to register.

Remember, you can use your Temporary Identity Certificate (TIC) if you don’t have an ID when visiting your voting station on 8 or 9 February 2014 between 08:00 and 17:00.

For more information, visit the Electoral Commission of South Africa’s website

Media Enquiries: 
Independent Electoral Commission National Office
Tel: 0800 11 8000