Tygerberg Academic Hospital's 20th Hartman Memorial Lecture | Western Cape Government


Tygerberg Academic Hospital's 20th Hartman Memorial Lecture

10 November 2009

Tygerberg Academic Hospital hosted its 20th Hartman Ceremony Awards today for nursing staff in recognition of their excellent services rendered during the year.


The ceremony for awarding Professional Nurses for excellence in Clinical Nursing is named after Miss M Hartman, the first Chief Matron of Tygerberg Hospital. After her retirement, an annual award presentation was established to commemorate her immense contribution to professional nursing services.

It is believed that the Nursing Staff of the hospital plays a determining role in:

  1. The management of the hospital
  2. The clinical accompaniment of Nursing, Medical, Supplementary Professional students
  3. The development of Clinical Nursing in specialised areas
  4. Promoting the goals of the Nursing Profession as a whole.

All candidates are selected according to a strict clinical criteria.

There are eight Nursing Modules. Three candidates were nominated in each of the three categories. Three winners were announced from each Nursing Module: a Professional Nurse; Enrolled Nurse and Enrolled Auxiliary Nurse.

'The Nursing division regards this function as the highlight of the year', said Mrs Rachel Basson, Deputy Director of the Nursing Division.

This year we are privileged to have Professor Cheryl Nikodem, Head of the Nursing Department, at the University of Stellenbosch, as our guest speaker.



Issued by the Directorate: Communications
Western Cape Department of Health

Media Enquiries: 

Laticia Pienaar
Cell: 073 1713 643
Tel: 021 938 5454