Tygerberg Hospital Rewards Clinical Excellence | Western Cape Government


Tygerberg Hospital Rewards Clinical Excellence

4 October 2013

Tygerberg Hospital hosted the 24th Hartman Ceremony Awards to recognise the excellent services rendered by the nursing staff during the year, today. The ceremony for awarding Professional Nurses for excellence in clinical nursing is named after Miss M Hartman, the first Chief Matron of Tygerberg Hospital. After her retirement, an annual award presentation was established to commemorate her immense contribution to professional nursing services.

Nursing staff of the hospital play a determining role in:

  1. The management of the hospital
  2. The clinical accompaniment of nursing, medical, supplementary professional students
  3. The development of clinical nursing in specialised areas
  4. Promoting the goals of the nursing profession as a whole.

Candidates are selected according to strict clinical criteria and winners will be announced from each nursing module:

  • professional nurse
  • enrolled nurse
  • enrolled nurse auxiliary
Media Enquiries: 

Laticia Pienaar
Communications Officer: Tygerberg Hospital
Western Cape Government Health
Tel: 021 938 5454
E-mail: laticia.pienaar@westerncape.gov.za