DCAS introduces new Geographical Names Committee | Western Cape Government


DCAS introduces new Geographical Names Committee

15 August 2016

On Thursday 11 August 2016, the Western Cape Department of Cultural Affairs and Sport (DCAS) introduced the newly appointed Western Cape Provincial Geographical Names Committee (WCPGNC). Minister Anroux Marais and Head of Department Brent Walters attended their first meeting and wished them well.

This committee has at its core a vast variety of information, as well as functions essential for the well-being of the Western Cape. Some of these include ensuring that all work-related basic principles are constantly applied, especially to the names under their jurisdiction; making recommendations of geographical features; continually involving and consulting with the necessary stakeholders, and more.

Serving on the committee are:

Prof Bertie Neethling (Chairperson)
Prof Mawande Dlali
Mr Elsworth McPherson
Mr Vuyani Ngcuka
Mrs Leonora van der Walt
Mr Sydney Edward Opperman
Mr Nkosikhulule Nyembezi


Mr Marek Kedzieja
Mr Steven Jansen
Mr Schalk Carstens
Mr Mandlakayise Matyumza
Mr Antony Maritain Brutus
Dr Niel le Roux

Media Enquiries: 

Tania Colyn
Head of Communication Service
Department of Cultural Affairs and Sport
Tel: 021 483 9877
E-mail: Tania.Colyn@westerncape.gov.za