Safety Promotion Initiatives with Youth during June - July 2017 School Holiday


The Department of Community Safety invites Religious Institutions to apply for funding to implement Safety Promotion Programmes for Youth during the June/July 2017 School Holidays

Start: 26 June 2017
End: 14 July 2017

The Department of Community Safety invites religious institutions (registered NPOs) to submit proposals for safety promotion programmes for youth living in high crime areas. The Department will support these activities at a rate of up to R50 per day for participants on condition that these activities run for at least 8 hours per programme and at least one meal is provided for each participant daily.

Applications must be submitted on the prescribed application form, supplemented by a PowerPoint presentation (maximum 5 slides) introducing your organisation and its track record in community safety, the programme you envisage, programme objectives, a budget and a detailed schedule of proposed activities. Applicants will be required to present their proposals at a Departmental Review Panel Meeting. The Department may request applicants to participate in further safety promotion activities. Institutions interested in conducting safety promotion activities during the June/ July holidays should complete an application on the prescribed form. Applications are invited for:

  • June/ July school holidays, 26 June 2017 – 14 July 2017.

Application forms can be found at:

The programme will be implemented in the following high crime priority area:

  • Nayanga
  • Gugulethu
  • Khayelitsha
  • Mitchells Plain
  • Kraaifontein
  • Manenberg
  • Delft (including Wesbank)
  • Saldanha Bay (including Vredenburg)
  • Villiersdorp
  • Paarl East (only Smartie Town and Fairy Land)
  • Phillipi East
  • Bishop Lavis
  • Mfuleni
  • Imizamo Yethu
  • Masiphumelele

Note: Applications for youth safety programmes from other areas will be considered on merit and available funds.

Applications for funding for the June school holidays should be submitted no later than Wednesday, 17 May 2017.

Applicants from Khayelitsha, Imizamo Yethu, Masipumelele, Paarl-East, Villiersdorp and Saldanha Bay and all other rural areas must submit their applications to:

Cordelia Casa
Tel: 021 483 6547

Applicants from Nyanga, Gugulethu, Mitchells’ Plain, Kraaifontein, Manenberg, Delft, Phillippi-East, Bishop Lavis and Mfuleni and all other metropolitan areas must submit their applications to:

Primrose Mlunguza
Tel: 021 483 8450

To download the funding application form, click on link below:

Funding Application Form

To download the funding Youth Safety Religious Programme Advertisement published in the community papers, click on link below:

Youth Safety Religious Programme Advertisement

For enquiries contact the Project Manager:
Mansour Lagkar
Tel: 021 483 5621


Sponsored By:
The content on this page was last updated on 12 May 2017