Area-Based Teams (ABT) | Western Cape Government

Area-Based Teams (ABT)

An ABT is a methodology applied in 16 priority areas across the Western Cape which brings together Law Enforcement agencies under the control of the South African Police Services (SAPS), National, Provincial and Local Government role-players, as well as community-based structures, NGOs and experts aimed at coordinating and maximizing collective impact of the Provincial Safety Plan (2019), that is halving the murder rate in the Province over ten years.

ABTs are based on violence prevention and urban design interventions and takes an integrated approach through local role-players, inside and outside of government, to work together in pursuit of the common objectives of the Western Cape Safety Plan. The Department will support safety partners with interventions via the ABTs and thereby contribute to the efficiency of safety partners.

The Department aims, in terms of the ABT approach, to improve overall collaboration with safety partners to achieve the imperatives of the Western Cape Provincial Safety Plan.

Key role players  include the Department of Correctional Services, City of Cape Town Metro Police, Western Cape Liquor Authority (WCLA), South African Police Services (SAPS), National Prosecuting Authority (NPA), Emergency Medical Services (EMS), Community Police Forums (CPFs) and accredited Neighbourhood Watch (NHW) structures.  These role players, including other community organisations, play an integral role in the success of an ABT to reduce the levels of crime in the identified areas.

ABTs has been established in specific areas identified in the Safety Plan, and include Atlantis, Bishop Lavis, Deflt, Khayelitsha, Kraaifontein, Mfuleni, Mitchells Plain, Nyanga, Harare, Gugulethu and Philippi (Hanover Park) in the Metro, as well as the five district municipalities being the Central Karoo (Beaufort West), Garden Route (George), Cape Winelands (Witzenberg), West Coast (Swartland) and Overberg (Theewaterskloof) Municipalities.

The content on this page was last updated on 4 March 2022