

Cultural Affairs and Sport

Tania Colyn

Head of Communications

Tania.Colyn@westerncape.gov.za | Tel: 021 483 9877

## Cultural Affairs Awards Winners - 26 September 2023

Category	Winner
Best Arts and Culture Programme Award (After School Programme)	Lalela
After School Arts and Culture Coaching Excellence	Wendy Abrahams, Advance Edukos Foundation
Best Researcher Contributing to Archival Heritage	Sisanda Nkoala
Best School/Community/Church Archives	Ebrahiem Manuel (Posthumous)
Most Innovative Contribution of an Artist/Organisation in the Literary Arts Discipline	Sibongile Maputi
Most Innovative Contribution of an Artist/Organisation in the Dance Discipline	Darkroom Contemporary Dance Theatre
Most Innovative Contribution of an Artist/Organisation in the Drama Discipline	Bulelani Mabutyana
Most Innovatwive Contribution of an Artist/Organisation in the Music Discipline	SA Operatunity
Most Innovative Contribution of an Artist/Organisation in Film, Audio-Visual, Interactive Media, and Photography	Muneera Sallies
An Innovative Initiative to Support People Living with Disability	Pioneer Printers, Worcester
Most Innovative Young Artist Award	Deidre Jantjies



Cultural Affairs and Sport
Tania Colyn

Head of Communications

Tania.Colyn@westerncape.gov.za | Tel: 021 483 9877

Category	Winner
Most Innovative Community Arts Festival	Kunste Onbeperk NPC (KKNK)
Neville Alexander Award for an Outstanding Contribution Towards the Promotion of Multilingualism	Jitsvinger (Quintin Goliath)
A Project that promotes South African Sign Language or the Marginalised Indigenous Languages of the Western Cape	Deidre Jantjies
Significant Contribution to Language Development	Sign Language Education and Development (SLED)
Friends of the Public Library	Friends of the Edgemead Library
Substantial Contribution towards the Development and Advancement of Reading and Literacy	D'Almeida Library
Substantial Contribution Towards the Development and Advancement of Digital Literacy	Delft Library
Contribution to Research, Awareness and Public Advocacy about the Standardisation and Name Changes of Geographical Features	Steven Jansen
Contribution to the Promotion of Social Inclusion in the Field of Museums, Heritage and Geographical Names	CP Nel Museum
Best Innovative Project in the Field of Museums, Heritage and Geographical Names	Wynberg East Civic Association



Cultural Affairs and Sport
Tania Colyn

Head of Communications

Tania.Colyn@westerncape.gov.za | Tel: 021 483 9877

Category	Winner
Active Volunteer of the Year in the Museums, Heritage and Geographical Names Sector	Mogamat Kamedien
Contribution by a Conservation Body, Heritage Organisation or Museums Towards the Promotion of Local History, Heritage or renaming of Geographical Features	Salt River Heritage Society
Best Contribution to the Protection and Conservation of a National, Provincial or Locally Protected Heritage Site	Johann Rupert
Ministerial Commendations	Hugo Theart
	Dr Phillip Mthobeli Guma
	Crispin Sonn
	Dr Daniel Hugo
	ATKV
	Andre van der Merwe
Ministerial Legacy Awards	Isabella Niehaus
	Hazel Jonker
	Fatima Dike
	Tete Mbambisa
	George Werner
	Alvin Dyers
	Spencer Mbadu
	Zelda Benjamin