

LOCAL GOVERNMENT FINANCE

mfma@pgwc.gov.za tel: +27 21 483 9604 fax: +27 21 483 4411 7 Wale Street, Cape Town, 8001 www.capegateway.gov.za

REFERENCE: T12/2/6

ENQUIRIES: Mr E Johannes

TREASURY CIRCULAR MUN 16 OF 2011

THE MUNICIPAL MANAGER, CITY OF CAPE TOWN: MR A EBRAHIM THE MUNICIPAL MANAGER, WEST COAST DISTRICT: MR H PRINS THE MUNICIPAL MANAGER, MATZIKAMA MUNICIPALITY: MR DG O'NEILL THE MUNICIPAL MANAGER, CEDERBERG MUNICIPALITY: MR G MATHYSE THE MUNICIPAL MANAGER, BERGRIVIER MUNICIPALITY: MS C LIEBENBERG THE MUNICIPAL MANAGER, SALDANHA BAY MUNICIPALITY: MR J FORTUIN THE MUNICIPAL MANAGER, SWARTLAND MUNICIPALITY: MR J SCHOLTZ THE MUNICIPAL MANAGER, CAPE WINELANDS DISTRICT: MR M MGAJO THE MUNICIPAL MANAGER, WITZENBERG MUNICIPALITY: MR D NASSON THE MUNICIPAL MANAGER, DRAKENSTEIN MUNICIPALITY: DR S KABANYANE THE MUNICIPAL MANAGER, STELLENBOSCH MUNICIPALITY: MR D DANIELS THE MUNICIPAL MANAGER, BREEDE VALLEY MUNICIPALITY: MR A PAULSE THE MUNICIPAL MANAGER, BREEDE RIVER/WINELANDS: MR SA MOKWENI THE MUNICIPAL MANAGER, OVERBERG DISTRICT: MR R BUTLER (ACTING) THE MUNICIPAL MANAGER, THEEWATERSKLOOF MUNICIPALITY: MR HSD WALLACE THE MUNICIPAL MANAGER, OVERSTRAND MUNICIPALITY: ADV W ZYBRANDT THE MUNICIPAL MANAGER, CAPE AGULHAS MUNICIPALITY: MR R STEPHENS THE MUNICIPAL MANAGER, SWELLENDAM MUNICIPALITY: MR M STEENKAMP (ACTING) THE MUNICIPAL MANAGER, EDEN DISTRICT: MR M HOOGBAARD (ACTING) THE MUNICIPAL MANAGER, KANNALAND MUNICIPALITY: MR M HOOGBAARD (ACTING) THE MUNICIPAL MANAGER, HESSEQUA MUNICIPALITY: MR J JACOBS THE MUNICIPAL MANAGER, MOSSEL BAY MUNICIPALITY: DR M GRATZ THE MUNICIPAL MANAGER, GEORGE MUNICIPALITY: MR T BOTHA (ACTING) THE MUNICIPAL MANAGER, OUDTSHOORN MUNICIPALITY: MR N PIETERSEN THE MUNICIPAL MANAGER, BITOU MUNICIPALITY: MR L NGOQO THE MUNICIPAL MANAGER, KNYSNA MUNICIPALITY: MR J DOUGLAS THE MUNICIPAL MANAGER, CENTRAL KAROO DISTRICT: MR S JOOSTE (ACTING) THE MUNICIPAL MANAGER, LAINGSBURG MUNICIPALITY: MR P WILLIAMS THE MUNICIPAL MANAGER, PRINCE ALBERT MUNICIPALITY: MR P OLIPHANT (ACTING) THE MUNICIPAL MANAGER, BEAUFORT WEST MUNICIPALITY: MR J BOOYSEN THE CHIEF FINANCIAL OFFICER, CITY OF CAPE TOWN: MR M RICHARDSON

THE CHIEF FINANCIAL OFFICER, WEST COAST DISTRICT: MR J KOEKEMOER THE CHIEF FINANCIAL OFFICER, MATZIKAMA MUNICIPALITY: MR LJ BRUWER THE CHIEF FINANCIAL OFFICER, CEDERBERG MUNICIPALITY: MR F LÖTTER THE CHIEF FINANCIAL OFFICER, BERGRIVIER MUNICIPALITY: MR JA VAN NIEKERK THE CHIEF FINANCIAL OFFICER, SALDANHA BAY MUNICIPALITY: MR J VAN COLLER (ACTING) THE CHIEF FINANCIAL OFFICER, SWARTLAND MUNICIPALITY: MR K COOPER THE CHIEF FINANCIAL OFFICER, CAPE WINELANDS DISTRICT: MR JG MARAIS THE CHIEF FINANCIAL OFFICER, WITZENBERG MUNICIPALITY: MR R ESAU THE CHIEF FINANCIAL OFFICER, DRAKENSTEIN MUNICIPALITY: MR CM PETERSEN THE CHIEF FINANCIAL OFFICER, STELLENBOSCH MUNICIPALITY: MR M BOLTON THE CHIEF FINANCIAL OFFICER, BREEDE VALLEY MUNICIPALITY: MR D MCTHOMAS THE CHIEF FINANCIAL OFFICER, BREEDE RIVER/WINELANDS: MR CF HOFFMANN THE CHIEF FINANCIAL OFFICER, OVERBERG DISTRICT: MR R BUTLER (ACTING) THE CHIEF FINANCIAL OFFICER, THEEWATERSKLOOF MUNICIPALITY: MR S JACOBS THE CHIEF FINANCIAL OFFICER, OVERSTRAND MUNICIPALITY: MR H KLEINLOOG THE CHIEF FINANCIAL OFFICER, CAPE AGULHAS MUNICIPALITY: MR H SCHLEBUSCH THE CHIEF FINANCIAL OFFICER, SWELLENDAM MUNICIPALITY: MR J KRAPOHL (ACTING) THE CHIEF FINANCIAL OFFICER, EDEN DISTRICT: MR NB DELO THE CHIEF FINANCIAL OFFICER, KANNALAND MUNICIPALITY: MR NB DELO (ACTING) THE CHIEF FINANCIAL OFFICER, HESSEQUA MUNICIPALITY: MS HJ VILJOEN THE CHIEF FINANCIAL OFFICER, MOSSEL BAY MUNICIPALITY: MR HF BOTHA THE CHIEF FINANCIAL OFFICER, GEORGE MUNICIPALITY: DR C KAPP (ACTING) THE CHIEF FINANCIAL OFFICER, OUDTSHOORN MUNICIPALITY: MR K JORDAAN THE CHIEF FINANCIAL OFFICER, BITOU MUNICIPALITY: MR D LOTT THE CHIEF FINANCIAL OFFICER, KNYSNA MUNICIPALITY: MR G EASTON THE CHIEF FINANCIAL OFFICER, CENTRAL KAROO DISTRICT: MR CJ KYMDELL THE CHIEF FINANCIAL OFFICER, LAINGSBURG MUNICIPALITY: MS A GROENEWALD THE CHIEF FINANCIAL OFFICER, PRINCE ALBERT MUNICIPALITY: MR J NEETHLING (ACTING) THE CHIEF FINANCIAL OFFICER, BEAUFORT WEST MUNICIPALITY: MR D LOUW

```
T THE HEAD OFFICIAL: PROVINCIAL TREASURY (DR JC STEGMANN)
THE HEAD: BRANCH FISCAL AND ECONOMIC SERVICES (MR H MALILA)
THE HEAD: BRANCH GOVERNANCE AND ASSET MANAGEMENT (MR TC ARENDSE)
THE HEAD: PUBLIC POLICY SERVICES (MR A PHILLIPS)
THE HEAD: PUBLIC FINANCE (MR H MALILA) (PRO TEM)
THE HEAD: FINANCIAL GOVERNANCE (MR A REDDY) (ACTING)
THE HEAD: ASSET MANAGEMENT (MS N EBRAHIM) (ACTING)
THE CHIEF FINANCIAL OFFICER (MR A GILDENHUYS)
THE SENIOR MANAGER: ACCOUNTING SERVICES: PROVINCIAL GOVERNMENT (MR N VAN NIEKERK) (ACTING)
THE SENIOR MANAGER: ACCOUNTING SERVICES: LOCAL GOVERNMENT (MS L NGXONONO)
THE SENIOR MANAGER: CORPORATE GOVERNANCE (MR B VINK)
THE SENIOR MANAGER: BUDGET MANAGEMENT: PROVINCIAL GOVERNMENT (MS M SHERATON)
THE SENIOR MANAGER: BUDGET MANAGEMENT: LOCAL GOVERNMENT (MR ML BOOYSEN)
THE SENIOR MANAGER: LOCAL GOVERNMENT FINANCE (MS A PICK)
THE SENIOR MANAGER: LOCAL GOVERNMENT FINANCE (GROUP ONE) (MR F SABBAT)
THE SENIOR MANAGER: LOCAL GOVERNMENT FINANCE (GROUP ONE) (MR MS SIGABI)
THE SENIOR MANAGER: LOCAL GOVERNMENT FINANCE (GROUP TWO) (MR MS SIGABI)
THE SENIOR MANAGER: LOCAL GOVERNMENT FINANCE (GROUP TWO) (MR MS SIGABI)
THE SENIOR MANAGER: MMOVEABLE ASSET MANAGEMENT (MR NB LANGENHOVEN)
THE SENIOR MANAGER: MOVEABLE ASSET MANAGEMENT (MS N EBRAHIM)
THE SENIOR MANAGER: SUPPORTING AND INTERLINKED FINANCIAL SYSTEMS (MR A BASTIAANSE)
THE HEAD: OFFICE OF THE FINANCE MINISTRY (MS A SMIT)
```

THE PROVINCIAL AUDITOR

MASTER RECORDS OFFICIAL: FINANCIAL MANAGEMENT

THE HEAD OF DEPARTMENT: LOCAL GOVERNMENT

THE CHIEF DIRECTOR: LOCAL GOVERNMENT BUDGET ANALYSIS - NATIONAL TREASURY (MR J HATTINGH)

MUNICIPAL CHIEF FINANCIAL OFFICERS' FORUM: 9 JUNE 2011

- 1. This circular serves to confirm that the next CFO Forum scheduled meeting will take place on Thursday, 9 June 2011.
- 2. All municipal Chief Financial Officers (CFOs) are requested to attend the meeting and are welcome to be accompanied by an additional municipal official.
- 3. Included find a copy of the draft agenda of the items which will be discussed at the session.
- 4. Confirmation of attendance or apologies should reach the Secretariat at the Provincial Treasury by no later than 1 June 2011.
- 5. The details to the CFO Forum meeting are as follows:

Date: 9 June 2011

Time: 08h30 - 15h30

Venue: Council Chambers, Stellenbosch Municipality

51 Plein Street, STELLENBOSCH

6. Furthermore, members of the forum are requested to submit any additional items for the agenda which should reach our offices by no later than 1 June 2011 and should be submitted to:

Attention: Ms Athalia October

Fax: 021 483 4411/7356

Tel: 021 483 9604

E-mail: mfma@pgwc.gov.za / athoctob@pgwc.gov.za / athoctob@pgwc.gov.za / athoctob.gov.za / athoctob.gov.

- 7. The intention is to identify best practices and similarly to find amicable solutions to the many challenges relating to the local government landscape.
- 8. Your co-operation in this regard will be appreciated.

Yours faithfully

A

MR F SABBAT

SENIOR MANAGER: LOCAL GOVERNMENT FINANCE

DATE: 26 May 2011