## PROVINSIALE TESOURIE • PROVINCIAL TREASURY • UNONDYEBO WEPHONDO

Verwysing Reference

T 11/2/2 (2009/10)

Navrae Enquiries Imibuzo

H. Malila



## TREASURY CIRCULAR NO. 27/2009

```
THE PREMIER
THE MINISTER OF AGRICULTURE
THE MINISTER OF COMMUNITY SAFETY
THE MINISTER OF CULTURAL AFFAIRS AND SPORT
THE MINISTER OF EDUCATION
THE MINISTER OF FINANCE, ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT AND TOURISM
THE MINISTER OF HEALTH
                                                                                                                                                                        For information
THE MINISTER OF HOUSING
THE MINISTER OF HOUSING
THE MINISTER OF LOCAL GOVERNMENT, ENVIRONMENTAL AFFAIRS AND DEVELOPMENT PLANNING
THE MINISTER OF SOCIAL DEVELOPMENT
THE MINISTER OF TRANSPORT AND PUBLIC WORKS
THE SPEAKER: PROVINCIAL PARLIAMENT
THE DEPUTY SPEAKER: PROVINCIAL PARLIAMENT
ALL OTHER MEMBERS OF PARLIAMENT
THE ACCOUNTING OFFICER: VOTE 1:
                                                             PREMIER (MS V PETERSEN)
THE ACCOUNTING OFFICER: VOTE 2: THE ACCOUNTING OFFICER: VOTE 3:
                                                             PROVINCIAL PARLIAMENT (MR P WILLIAMS)
PROVINCIAL TREASURY (DR JC STEGMANN)
THE ACCOUNTING OFFICER: VOTE 4: THE ACCOUNTING OFFICER: VOTE 5: THE ACCOUNTING OFFICER: VOTE 6:
                                                             COMMUNITY SAFETY (DR GA LAWRENCE)
EDUCATION (MR RB SWARTZ)
                                                             HEALTH (PROF KG HOUSEHAM)
THE ACCOUNTING OFFICER: VOTE 7:
                                                             SOCIAL DEVELOPMENT (MS K LUBELWANA)
THE ACCOUNTING OFFICER: VOTE 8: THE ACCOUNTING OFFICER: VOTE 9: THE ACCOUNTING OFFICER: VOTE 10:
                                                             LOCAL GOVERNMENT AND HOUSING (MS S MAJIET)
                                                             ENVIRONMENTAL AFFAIRS AND DEVELOPMENT PLANNING (MR R ELLIS) (ACTING) TRANSPORT AND PUBLIC WORKS (MR T MANYATHI)
THE ACCOUNTING OFFICER: VOTE 11: THE ACCOUNTING OFFICER: VOTE 12:
                                                             AGRICULTURE (MS J ISAACS)
ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT AND TOURISM (MR B ROBERTS)
THE ACCOUNTING OFFICER: VOTE 13:
                                                             CULTURAL AFFAIRS AND SPORT (MR B WALTERS) (ACTING)
                                                                  PREMIER (MR H ARENDSE)
PROVINCIAL PARLIAMENT (MS A SMIT)
PROVINCIAL TREASURY (MR A GILDENHUYS)
COMMUNITY SAFETY (MR M FRIZLAR)
EDUCATION (MR L ELY)
THE CHIEF FINANCIAL OFFICER: VOTE 1: THE CHIEF FINANCIAL OFFICER: VOTE 2: THE CHIEF FINANCIAL OFFICER: VOTE 3:
THE CHIEF FINANCIAL OFFICER: VOTE 4:
THE CHIEF FINANCIAL OFFICER: VOTE 5:
THE CHIEF FINANCIAL OFFICER: VOTE 6:
                                                                   HEALTH (MR A VAN NIÉKERK)
                                                                  SOCIAL DEVELOPMENT (MR JO SMITH)
LOCAL GOVERNMENT AND HOUSING (MR D BASSON)
ENVIRONMENTAL AFFAIRS AND DEVELOPMENT PLANNING (MR AA GAFFOOR)
TRANSPORT AND PUBLIC WORKS (MR CR ISMAY)
THE CHIEF FINANCIAL OFFICER: VOTE 7:
THE CHIEF FINANCIAL OFFICER: VOTE 8:
THE CHIEF FINANCIAL OFFICER: VOTE 9:
THE CHIEF FINANCIAL OFFICER: VOTE 10:
THE CHIEF FINANCIAL OFFICER: VOTE 11:
                                                                  AGRICULTURE (MR F HUYSAMER)
                                                                  ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT AND TOURISM (MS M ABRAHAMS)
CULTURAL AFFAIRS AND SPORT (MS BG RUTGERS)
THE CHIEF FINANCIAL OFFICER:
                                                  VOTE 12:
THE CHIEF FINANCIAL OFFICER: VOTE 13:
THE HEAD OFFICIAL: PROVINCIAL TREASURY (DR JC STEGMANN)
THE HEAD: BRANCH FISCAL AND ECONOMIC SERVICES (MR H MALILA)
THE HEAD: BRANCH GOVERNANCE AND ASSET MANAGEMENT (MR TC ARENDSE) (ACTING)
THE HEAD: PUBLIC POLICY SERVICES (MR A PHILLIPS)
THE HEAD: PUBLIC FINANCE (MR H MALILA) (PRO TEM)
THE HEAD: FINANCIAL GOVERNANCE (MR A REDDY) (ACTING)
THE HEAD: ASSET MANAGEMENT (MR TD PILLAY)
THE CHIEF AUDIT EXECUTIVE (MS H ROBSON)
THE CHIEF FINANCIAL OFFICER (MR A GILDENHUYS)
THE SENIOR MANAGER: HUMAN RESOURCE MANAGEMENT (MS PG PIEDT)
THE SENIOR MANAGER: ACCOUNTING SERVICES: PROVINCIAL GOVERNMENT (MR H DU TOIT) (ACTING) THE SENIOR MANAGER: ACCOUNTING SERVICES: LOCAL GOVERNMENT (MS N OLIPHANT) THE SENIOR MANAGER: CORPORATE GOVERNANCE (MR B VINK)
THE SENIOR MANAGER: INTERNAL AUDIT: GOVERNANCE AND ADMINISTRATION CLUSTER (MS B CAIRNCROSS)
THE SENIOR MANAGER: INTERNAL AUDIT: SOCIAL CLUSTER (MR M MALULEKA)
THE SENIOR MANAGER: INTERNAL AUDIT: ECONOMIC CLUSTER (MR J RADEBE)
THE SENIOR MANAGER: BUDGET MANAGEMENT: PROVINCIAL GOVERNMENT (MR PP PIENAAR) (ACTING) THE SENIOR MANAGER: BUDGET MANAGEMENT: LOCAL GOVERNMENT (MS N SILULWANE) (ACTING)
THE SENIOR MANAGER: BODGET MANAGEMENT LOCAL GOVERNMENT (MS A PICK)
THE SENIOR MANAGER: PROVINCIAL GOVERNMENT FINANCE (MS A PICK)
THE SENIOR MANAGER: LOCAL GOVERNMENT FINANCE (GROUP ONE) (MR G PAULSE)
THE SENIOR MANAGER: LOCAL GOVERNMENT FINANCE (GROUP TWO) (MR M SIGABI)
THE SENIOR MANAGER: PUBLIC FINANCE POLICY RESEARCH AND MODELLING (MS A PICK) (PRO TEM)
THE SENIOR MANAGER:
                                     IMMOVEABLE ASSET MANAGEMENT (MR NB LANGENHOVEN)
THE SENIOR MANAGER: MOVEABLE ASSET MANAGEMENT (MS N EBRAHIM)
THE SENIOR MANAGER: SUPPORTING AND INTERLINKED FINANCIAL SYSTÉMS (MR A BASTIAANSE)
THE HEAD: OFFICE OF THE MINISTRY (MS J DAVIDS)
```

THE PROVINCIAL AUDITOR

MASTER RECORDS OFFICIAL: FINANCIAL MANAGEMENT

IMPLEMENTATION FRAMEWORK FOR SECURITY ARRANGEMENTS IN RESPECT OF PRIVATE RESIDENCES FOR MEMBERS OF THE EXECUTIVE COUNCIL (MECs) AS

**CONTEMPLATED IN THE MINISTERIAL HANDBOOK (DPSA 7 FEBRUARY 2007)** 

1. I refer to the attached document regarding the implementation framework for security

arrangements in respect of private residences for Members of the Executive Council

and Presiding Officers as contemplated in the Ministerial Handbook

(DPSA 7 February 2007).

2. Accounting Officers must please study this document and note the following:

- The document provides a provincial implementation framework for security

arrangements in respect of private residences for Members of the Executive

Council (MECs) and provides guidance on the process to be followed with regard

to exercising this specific benefit and privilege.

- The Provincial Minister of Transport and Public Works may approve a State

contribution of a non-recoverable maximum amount not inconsistent with the limit

set by the Minister of Public Works, or the total cost of security measures not

exceeding the limit set by the Minister of Public Works. Currently this limit is

R100 000.00.

Each Department will be individually responsible for the cost related to the

security measures implemented, subject to the R100 000.00 limitation, at the

residence/s of the Executive Authority responsible for that Department.

Should the cost of the security measures be more than the approved limit, the

difference shall be borne by the Public Office Bearer.

Any enquiries on this implementation framework can be directed to

Mr Francois Joubert at the Department of Transport and Public Works on cell

083 641 5042 or at his office (021) 483 5436.

Kind regards

**HEAD: BRANCH FISCAL AND ECONOMIC SERVICES** 

PROVINCIAL TREASURY

DATE: